Advertisement
HomeCollectionsSend Your Reviews
IN THE NEWS

Send Your Reviews

FEATURED ARTICLES
NEWS
February 20, 2000
" 'Think Big' by Ben Carson is Dr. Carson's formula for success. The words 'think big' are an acronym. The acronym represents: T=talents and time, H=hope and honesty, I=insight, N=nice, K=knowledge, B=books, I=in-depth, G=God. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to unleash their potential for excellence." -- Terry Thornton II Johnnycake Elementary "My favorite book is 'Something Queer in the Cafeteria' by Elizabeth Levy. The book is a hilarious mystery. There is a brand new cafeteria at the Evergreen Avenue School, and everything has gone wrong.
ARTICLES BY DATE
NEWS
March 7, 2001
"I like 'Robo's Favorite Places' by Wade Hudson because it gives you ideas about places you might like to visit. This book is funny. It is about Robo, who has a lot of places he likes to go, but has a hard time choosing among them." -- Darshell Taylor Arundel Elementary "I enjoyed reading 'The Hundred Dresses' by Eleanor Estes. There were a group of girls who did not believe that Wanda had 100 dresses. It was very sad that everybody made fun of her and looked down on her, instead of looking at her as a normal person.
Advertisement
NEWS
January 31, 1999
"In 'Zack's Alligator' by Shirley Mozelle, a boy named Zack got a box from his father. Inside the box was an alligator key. When Zack put water on the alligator, it became real. Read and find out if this alligator will be mean or friendly."-- Danez Jones, Leith Walk Elementary"I liked the book 'The Kissing Hand' by Audrey Penn. It is about loving and caring. Chester the raccoon learns that his mom's love is always with him."-- Julia Benjamin, Thunder Hill ElementaryThe Sun invites its young readers to send in their book reviews, and we will print them on this page or on sunspot.
NEWS
December 13, 2000
"I would recommend 'Columbus Story' by Alice Dalgliesh because it's educational and it tells how Christopher Columbus found America. I felt it was a good story because they went on an adventure across the sea." -- Veronica McCullough William Paca Elementary " 'Pizza Cats' (Rugrats Ready-to-Read, No. 5) by Gail Herman is about the Rugrats getting pizza and playing with cats. I like this book because it is funny when the pizza flew everywhere." -- Annmarie Williamson Charlesmont Elementary " 'Stuart Little' by E. B. White is about a mouse named Stuart.
FEATURES
August 26, 1998
"I like 'Koko's Kitten' by Francine Patterson. She taught a female baby gorilla American Sign Language. American Sign Language is used by deaf people in order to talk with their hands. When Dr. Patterson ask Koko what she wanted on her 12th birthday, Koko signed 'cat.' "- Lanika HinesSeneca Elementary"If you like books about angels, you will like 'The High Rise Glorious Skittle Skat Roarious Sky Pie Angel Food Cake' by Nancy Willard. It is about a girl who tries to make a cake for her mother with her great-grandmother's recipe.
FEATURES
September 1, 1999
" `Samantha the Snob' by Kathryn Cristaldi took place in school. There was a new girl in the school and she was having a party. All of her friends were invited to her birthday party, so they came." -- Shana Brown, Cherry Hill Elementary"The book I read was `Ghost Camp' by R.L. Stine. It is a magnificent book because the campers turn into ghosts because somebody killed them. Can you solve the mystery?" -- Mathew Baker, Elmwood ElementaryThe Sun invites its young readers to send in their book reviews, and we will print them on this page or on sunspot.
FEATURES
August 11, 1999
"I enjoyed `Miss Nelson Has a Field Day' by Harry Allard. I enjoyed the part when Mr. Blandwoth puts on an ugly black dress and acts like Viola Swamp."LaCapri RobinsonCherry Hill Elementary"I just completed kindergarten. My teacher, Mrs. Michel, taught me how to read. I enjoy reading all books, but if i had to choose one, my favorite book at home is `Arthur's Computer Disaster' by Marc T. Brown. I had a computer disaster one day, but it is all better now."Ian HughesYouth Benefit ElementaryThe Sun invites its young readers to send in their book reviews, and we will print them on this page or on sunspot.
FEATURES
May 5, 1999
"My favorite Dr. Seuss book is 'The Cat in the Hat' because he performs tricks. Also because he lets out the two kids. Finally because he flips the fish out of the bowl."-- Darrick JamesHavre de Grace Elementary"You will be shocked about these animals -- the black scorpion, a giant humpback whale, a flying fox and the amazing American toad. You can find them in 'How Birds Fly and Other Marvels of the Animal World' by Anna Maria Caldara."-- Leanne ColeRunnymede Elementary SchoolThe Sun invites its young readers to send in their book reviews, and we will print them on this page or on sunspot.
NEWS
February 13, 2000
"I recommend the book `Meet Karen Cantor, Unusual Vet' by Patricia Lakin. It is about a vet who takes care of pets. The story was good because it has lots of photographs about different animals. I think the whole world should read it." -- Davon Milner Running Brook Elementary "I love `Robert the Rose Horse' by Joan Heilbroner. It is about a horse that likes roses. He sneezes when he smells one, and I think it is funny." -- Autumn Hughes Tenderheart Daycare The Sun invites its young readers to send in their book reviews, and we will print them on this page or on sunspot.
FEATURES
December 13, 1998
"I like the book 'There is a Carrot in My Ear' by Alvin Schwartz because it is funny. The best part is when the Grandpa thinks a pumpkin is a horse egg. My favorite character is the Grandpa because he is very silly."- Ann MartinJacksonville Elementary"I really enjoyed the book 'The Bears' Christmas and Other Stories' by Stan and Jan Berenstain, because Pa Pa Bear showed his son how to have fun in the winter. The first thing Pa Pa Bear showed his son was how to ski, skate and ride a sleigh.
NEWS
December 6, 2000
"I like 'Cat in the Hat' by Dr. Seuss because the sun would not shine, it was too wet to play and the children heard a bump sound so they jumped and there was the Cat in the Hat." -- Tyshell Plater Tench Tilghman Elementary "I liked 'Moe the Dog in Tropical Paradise' by Diane Stanley because it is a book about a dog who does not like winter. He surprised his friend Arlene by painting his wall like a tropical paradise." -- Elise Hoskins Eldersburg Elementary "The book 'Harry in Trouble' by Barbara Ann Porte is about a boy in trouble.
NEWS
November 29, 2000
"I liked 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory' by Roald Dahl because I like chocolate, and you can go to a factory and make anything you want to make, like chocolate. It is my favorite book." -- Kia Wright Public School #215 "My favorite book is 'New Adventures of Mary-Kate and Ashley: The Case of the Missing Mummy' by Francis Lin Lantz. It is about two girl twins named Mary-Kate and Ashley who go into a museum and get locked up in jail. I like it because the twins go into a very, very, very dark room and three mummies catch them and lock them up."
NEWS
April 12, 2000
"I highly recommend the book 'Satchel Paige' by Lesa Cline-Ransome. It's a fun story about the life and times of a great man and a terrific baseball player. He made some bad choices as a boy, but adults cared for him and helped him straighten up." -- G. Lowell Swain, Winand Elementary "In 'Stephanie's Ponytail' by Robert N. Munsch, Stephanie wants a different kind of ponytail every day. She gets mad when all the kids call her ponytail ugly, but the next day, they all copy it. Stephanie is so mad at the kids that she says 'Tomorrow I am going to shave my head!
NEWS
March 8, 2000
"My favorite book is 'The Island of the Blue Dolphins' by Scott O'Dell. I like this book because there is a lot of adventure and it teaches us never to give up regardless of the challenges we encounter. In my heart, Karana, the main character who was left by herself on a deserted island, will always be one of my heroes." -- Christine Lebron, St. Margaret Elementary "I recommend 'My Robot Buddy' by Alfred Slote. In it, a boy named Jake wants a robot buddy, but it costs a lot of money. Do you think he got the robot buddy?
NEWS
March 1, 2000
"In 'Tall Tale: The Unbelievable Adventures of Pecos Bill,' Daniel lived in Paradise Valley. He hated living there and wished he could be anyplace else. The part I liked was when he was chasing a nice-looking horse, but it really was a car." -- LaByanca Harvey Grove Park Elementary " 'Koko's Kitten' is a good book because the author Francine Patterson talks about a real gorilla. Koko knows how to communicate in American Sign Language. The photographs are great." -- Michael Dimick Seneca Elementary "I read a book called 'Amber Brown Goes Fourth' by Paula Danziger.
NEWS
February 20, 2000
" 'Think Big' by Ben Carson is Dr. Carson's formula for success. The words 'think big' are an acronym. The acronym represents: T=talents and time, H=hope and honesty, I=insight, N=nice, K=knowledge, B=books, I=in-depth, G=God. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to unleash their potential for excellence." -- Terry Thornton II Johnnycake Elementary "My favorite book is 'Something Queer in the Cafeteria' by Elizabeth Levy. The book is a hilarious mystery. There is a brand new cafeteria at the Evergreen Avenue School, and everything has gone wrong.
NEWS
March 1, 2000
"In 'Tall Tale: The Unbelievable Adventures of Pecos Bill,' Daniel lived in Paradise Valley. He hated living there and wished he could be anyplace else. The part I liked was when he was chasing a nice-looking horse, but it really was a car." -- LaByanca Harvey Grove Park Elementary " 'Koko's Kitten' is a good book because the author Francine Patterson talks about a real gorilla. Koko knows how to communicate in American Sign Language. The photographs are great." -- Michael Dimick Seneca Elementary "I read a book called 'Amber Brown Goes Fourth' by Paula Danziger.
NEWS
February 13, 2000
"I recommend the book `Meet Karen Cantor, Unusual Vet' by Patricia Lakin. It is about a vet who takes care of pets. The story was good because it has lots of photographs about different animals. I think the whole world should read it." -- Davon Milner Running Brook Elementary "I love `Robert the Rose Horse' by Joan Heilbroner. It is about a horse that likes roses. He sneezes when he smells one, and I think it is funny." -- Autumn Hughes Tenderheart Daycare The Sun invites its young readers to send in their book reviews, and we will print them on this page or on sunspot.
FEATURES
February 2, 2000
"'What Do Bunnies Do All Day?' by Judy Mastrangelo is my favorite book. I like bunnies, and if I had a bunny, I could learn how they grow, what they eat and what they drink. I learned that bunnies have small teeth to nibble with." -- Jacqueline Green Leithwalk Elementary "I like the story 'Loudmouse' by Richard Wilbur because it's about mice. One night, a robber came into the house, and the loud mouse screamed so loud the whole family woke up and saw what happened. The robber had left the bag filled with jewelry, gold and other precious things and run out of the house.
Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.