Advertisement
HomeCollectionsOpinion
IN THE NEWS

Opinion

FEATURED ARTICLES
EXPLORE
June 21, 2011
Coworkers who live in Baltimore long ago disabused me of the notion that being a journalist will get you out of jury duty. I remember one woman I used to work with serving on multiple juries. Still, when I get one of those calls from an opinion pollster, I've always been able to wriggle off the hook by telling him or her that I work for a media company. So it caught me off guard Monday evening when the caller told me that my employment didn't disqualify me from the poll she was taking.
ARTICLES BY DATE
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec and The Baltimore Sun | August 4, 2014
At last year's training camp, much was said and written about the louder and bolder  Joe Flacco . He verbally sparred with  Terrell Suggs  and other Ravens defensive players. He got on officials for not calling pass interference. He loudly encouraged his receivers and celebrated touchdown passes. It was all part of the narrative of Flacco, armed with a Super Bowl ring and the richest contract in franchise history, growing into the Ravens' undisputed leader and the face and voice of the franchise.
Advertisement
SPORTS
By Quint Kessenich, Special to The Baltimore Sun | March 17, 2011
The college lacrosse season has rounded the clubhouse turn and teams are racing down the backstretch, a third of the way through the regular season. Trends are developing, surprises are emerging and myths need to be busted. Here are some of the myths and what I think about them: Myth: Lacrosse is the fastest sport on two feet. Opinion: It is, at times. But too often the game has become slowed down by stick technology that makes dislodging the ball impossible, over coaching, specialization and rules that allow teams to stall.
NEWS
Robert L. Ehrlich Jr | August 3, 2014
Fact: Captured Hamas fighters confirm that their maze of secret tunnels into Israel was to be the entry point for a series of coordinated terror attacks during the Jewish High Holidays - all in order to massacre Israeli citizens at lightly guarded border settlements. Opinion: Americans should keep this scenario in mind as Secretary of State John Kerry readily adopts Hamas talking points and positions in his attempts to secure a "humanitarian" cease-fire. Hamas views such cessations of hostilities as mere opportunities to re-load in their ongoing campaign to reign terror (and ultimately destroy)
NEWS
April 9, 2012
I find Sy Steinberg's letter to the editor ("Protesters rewarded for disruptive behavior," March 29) about the settlement given abortion protesters to be very disturbing. Mr. Steinberg writes that "the protesters are inciting the public, who are entitled to be free of a bunch of grotesque signs. " This statement implies that we, the public, have a right to be free of free speech. That is a very dangerous attitude and our right to free speech should be cherished whether or not we agree with the speaker.
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec, The Baltimore Sun | September 14, 2011
Ravens cornerback Chris Carr saw a specialist in Texas this week to get another opinion on his injured left hamstring, an injury that forced him out of last Sunday's victory over the Pittsburgh Steelers. Carr has been dealing with hamstring soreness since early in training camp. "It's been frustrating because there's been a lot of work put into it. It's just been one of those nagging things, but I think it's going to be better pretty soon," Carr said. "That's what I'm looking for. I went to Texas and saw somebody, and got another way of looking at the injury.
NEWS
Robert L. Ehrlich Jr | November 11, 2012
Fact: The empathy factor was a big winner for President Barack Obama. Opinion: It proved impossible for a wealthy CEO-type to compete in the "he cares about us" category. Mitt Romney's "47 percent" comment most certainly (further) strengthened this narrative. But it was the Obama campaign's relentless rhetoric against wealth and income disparity that carried the day with enough middle-class voters. Fact: Democratic candidates successfully exploited the gender gap when nobody was looking.
NEWS
Robert L. Ehrlich Jr | September 9, 2012
Fact: Photo identification is a necessary element of life in America today. Opinion: Don't believe it? Try cashing an out-of-town check; visiting just about any office building in the country; getting on a commercial airplane; or, buying some types of non-prescription allergy medicines. Of course, Attorney General Eric Holder possesses a more selective view of photo identification. For him, having to produce such proof of identity at the polls is somehow discriminatory against minorities.
NEWS
By Mike Cross-Barnet | August 31, 2013
Friday was my last day on the job after editing the op-ed page of The Sun for seven years. That's approximately 7,000 op-eds and columns - about 5.3 million words in all. I would like to say that every single one of those op-eds was a brilliant contribution to opinion journalism, but I am professionally obligated to be truthful. As I pack up my things, there are memories I would like to leave behind -- occasions when, desperate to fill space and running out of time to meet a deadline, I subjected the readers of these pages to a point of view that was not quite ready for prime time.
NEWS
September 26, 2013
I disagree with several points in your recent editorial about the ejection of a disruptive parent from a school board meeting in Baltimore County ("Robert Small deserves an apology," Sept. 23). You state it would have been better if the Baltimore County school superintendent had allowed a small breach in protocol. But for a long time many citizens felt have that "protocol" is used only to allow questions that bolster officials' desires, not to explore the proposals in question. I saw the way Mr. Small was treated as ridiculous.
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec and The Baltimore Sun | June 23, 2014
The defensive line was supposed to be a major strength for the Ravens last year after they signed veterans  Chris Canty  and  Marcus Spears  and then used a third-round pick on  Brandon Williams . It didn't work out that way. The group didn't perform poorly by any means, but the defense finished 11th   against the run and didn't generate a lot of pass rush from the interior defensive line beyond the work of  Arthur Jones...
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec and The Baltimore Sun | June 2, 2014
The most pleasing sight for Ravens officials during the first week of organized team activities had to be Kelechi Osemele popping off the ball and running around the field like a guy who was truly happy to be healthy again. There's not enough contact in these OTAs to determine how healthy and strong Osemele is after his back surgery in November, but the third-year guard certainly looked the part, sprinting from drill to drill and to and from the huddle. There is a lot of talk about the competition at right tackle, and that's understandable.
NEWS
May 22, 2014
The Baltimore Sun's op-ed page is valuable real estate. One would hope it would provide a home for people with interesting, creative, perhaps unorthodox perspectives on current events. This is what I have not seen from Robert L. Ehrlich Jr. whose views track closely with the current right-wing talking points. Mr. Ehrlich's most recent column ("Musings on intolerant lefties and wars on women," May 18) is a prime example. It includes an attack on "college lefties," then on Sandra Fluke's "desire to enjoy taxpayer-financed sex" (Obamacare attack, part 1)
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec, The Baltimore Sun | May 19, 2014
There is not too much that reporters can take away from one day of watching Ravens rookie minicamp. Players are still feeling their way around a little bit, learning the plays and getting to know their new teammates and coaches. In past minicamps, we raved about Brandon Williams, Deonte Thompson and Nigel Carr , questioned Torrey Smith's hands and wondered whether Murphy Holloway could become the latest player to go from a standout college basketball player to an NFL tight end. Holloway was cut by the Ravens the next day. The point is, it's foolish to make any definitive conclusions so early in the offseason program.
NEWS
By Ian Duncan, The Baltimore Sun | May 5, 2014
A federal appeals judge in California last week took aim at the ATF's use of fictitious drug robbery schemes to secure lengthy prison sentences for would-be rip off crews, strongly criticizing the practice in a written opinion. The cases are simple: an informant or undercover agent poses as a disgruntled courier and invites a group of people to rob his employers of a half million dollars or so worth of cocaine. But Judge  Stephen Reinhardt wrote that such tactics raise important issues about wealth inequality in the United States and who law enforcement decides to pursue.
SPORTS
By Eduardo A. Encina and The Baltimore Sun | April 9, 2014
NEW YORK -  Orioles center fielder Adam Jones, whose postgame comments Tuesday about fans who run onto the field during games sparked national headlines, said Wednesday that he doesn't regret that he said players should be able to “kick them with our metal spikes,” and police should “tase the living [heck] out of them.” A day after making the remarks, Jones said he meant no harm by his comments, but he still stood by his words. Jones' comments were being reviewed by Major League Baseball on Wednesday, an MLB spokesperson told The Baltimore Sun. “My comments weren't malicious or anything like that,” Jones said.
SPORTS
By Edward Lee | March 9, 2012
Friday's edition of The Sun included an article on the top defenseman for five of the six teams participating in Saturday's Face-Off Classic at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore. Four of the five aforementioned have been named All Americans and one was arguably compiling an equally worthy season before suffering a season-ending shoulder injury last year. Lacrosse is a sport where goals are desired by fans and TV networks and players on the offensive side of the field throw no-look passes and shoot from behind their heads or between their legs.
SPORTS
By Don Markus and The Baltimore Sun | April 19, 2012
As a reporter, you are taught to keep your opinions out of the stories you write. But the blogosphere has allowed certain freedoms that didn't exist before. As someone who has covered and followed University of Maryland athletics since coming to The Baltimore Sun more than 25 years ago, I have the unique perspective of not only comparing coaches but athletic directors as well. I think it's too soon to judge Kevin Anderson's tenure in College Park, but in talking with Anderson for a story that appeared on the Sun's website Wednesday night and in the newspaper on Thursday, my feelings for the job he has done over the past 18 months have certainly changed.
Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.