Advertisement
HomeCollectionsOpinion
IN THE NEWS

Opinion

FEATURED ARTICLES
ENTERTAINMENT
By David Zurawik and The Baltimore Sun | April 18, 2014
As I watched Tuesday while the anchors on “Fox & Friends” leveled unsubstantiated charges against Rep. Elijah Cummings as if they were facts, I couldn't help thinking how much more dangerous Sen. Joe McCarthy might have been in the 1950s if there had been a show like this to amplify his reckless allegations. The Fox News morning show was playing one of cable talk's dirtier games, and the longtime Democratic congressman from Baltimore was its target for his role in the House IRS probe.
ARTICLES BY DATE
SPORTS
By Eduardo A. Encina and The Baltimore Sun | April 9, 2014
NEW YORK -  Orioles center fielder Adam Jones, whose postgame comments Tuesday about fans who run onto the field during games sparked national headlines, said Wednesday that he doesn't regret that he said players should be able to “kick them with our metal spikes,” and police should “tase the living [heck] out of them.” A day after making the remarks, Jones said he meant no harm by his comments, but he still stood by his words. Jones' comments were being reviewed by Major League Baseball on Wednesday, an MLB spokesperson told The Baltimore Sun. “My comments weren't malicious or anything like that,” Jones said.
Advertisement
EXPLORE
June 21, 2011
Coworkers who live in Baltimore long ago disabused me of the notion that being a journalist will get you out of jury duty. I remember one woman I used to work with serving on multiple juries. Still, when I get one of those calls from an opinion pollster, I've always been able to wriggle off the hook by telling him or her that I work for a media company. So it caught me off guard Monday evening when the caller told me that my employment didn't disqualify me from the poll she was taking.
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec, The Baltimore Sun | April 2, 2014
Ravens coach John Harbaugh briefly spoke to reporters at the team facility Tuesday, reiterating several things that he said at last week's NFL owners meetings. The team is still active on the free-agent market and remains in talks with the representatives of free-agent tight ends Ed Dickson and Owen Daniels. Harbaugh acknowledged that cornerback Corey Graham, who signed last month with the Buffalo Bills, was a significant loss, and while he has confidence in Chykie Brown and Asa Jackson, the Ravens are also looking to add another cornerback.
SPORTS
By Quint Kessenich, Special to The Baltimore Sun | March 17, 2011
The college lacrosse season has rounded the clubhouse turn and teams are racing down the backstretch, a third of the way through the regular season. Trends are developing, surprises are emerging and myths need to be busted. Here are some of the myths and what I think about them: Myth: Lacrosse is the fastest sport on two feet. Opinion: It is, at times. But too often the game has become slowed down by stick technology that makes dislodging the ball impossible, over coaching, specialization and rules that allow teams to stall.
NEWS
April 9, 2012
I find Sy Steinberg's letter to the editor ("Protesters rewarded for disruptive behavior," March 29) about the settlement given abortion protesters to be very disturbing. Mr. Steinberg writes that "the protesters are inciting the public, who are entitled to be free of a bunch of grotesque signs. " This statement implies that we, the public, have a right to be free of free speech. That is a very dangerous attitude and our right to free speech should be cherished whether or not we agree with the speaker.
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec, The Baltimore Sun | September 14, 2011
Ravens cornerback Chris Carr saw a specialist in Texas this week to get another opinion on his injured left hamstring, an injury that forced him out of last Sunday's victory over the Pittsburgh Steelers. Carr has been dealing with hamstring soreness since early in training camp. "It's been frustrating because there's been a lot of work put into it. It's just been one of those nagging things, but I think it's going to be better pretty soon," Carr said. "That's what I'm looking for. I went to Texas and saw somebody, and got another way of looking at the injury.
NEWS
Robert L. Ehrlich Jr | November 11, 2012
Fact: The empathy factor was a big winner for President Barack Obama. Opinion: It proved impossible for a wealthy CEO-type to compete in the "he cares about us" category. Mitt Romney's "47 percent" comment most certainly (further) strengthened this narrative. But it was the Obama campaign's relentless rhetoric against wealth and income disparity that carried the day with enough middle-class voters. Fact: Democratic candidates successfully exploited the gender gap when nobody was looking.
NEWS
Robert L. Ehrlich Jr | September 9, 2012
Fact: Photo identification is a necessary element of life in America today. Opinion: Don't believe it? Try cashing an out-of-town check; visiting just about any office building in the country; getting on a commercial airplane; or, buying some types of non-prescription allergy medicines. Of course, Attorney General Eric Holder possesses a more selective view of photo identification. For him, having to produce such proof of identity at the polls is somehow discriminatory against minorities.
NEWS
By Mike Cross-Barnet | August 31, 2013
Friday was my last day on the job after editing the op-ed page of The Sun for seven years. That's approximately 7,000 op-eds and columns - about 5.3 million words in all. I would like to say that every single one of those op-eds was a brilliant contribution to opinion journalism, but I am professionally obligated to be truthful. As I pack up my things, there are memories I would like to leave behind -- occasions when, desperate to fill space and running out of time to meet a deadline, I subjected the readers of these pages to a point of view that was not quite ready for prime time.
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec and The Baltimore Sun | March 17, 2014
New Ravens wide receiver Steve Smith is confident. But if you listen to every interview that he's done since signing with the team, it's clear that he wants everybody to know that he doesn't view himself as the final piece to the Ravens' puzzle. The 34-year-old has been refreshingly honest about the fact that he's in the twilight of his career. He's acknowledged that he's no longer a No. 1 receiver at this stage, and he admitted that one of the draws of signing with the Ravens was that they have several established players on offense - he specifically mentioned Torrey Smith , Jacoby Jones and Ray Rice - so there's not as much pressure on him. Then, when he spoke about Gary Kubiak's offense with the Houston Texans, he said he saw himself not in the role of perennial Pro Bowl wide receiver Andre Johnson , but in the role of Kevin Walter , who never caught more than 65 passes in a season.
NEWS
By Michael Dresser, The Baltimore Sun | March 13, 2014
An NAACP leader, a former Maryland State Police major, a candidate for governor and a mother seeking to help her son with epilepsy converged Thursday on Annapolis to support more liberal marijuana laws. A number of bills, backed by lawmakers from a range of philosophical backgrounds, are moving through the General Assembly this year as a broader swath of the electorate has embraced legalizing or decriminalizing the drug. Roughly 100 people rallied Thursday outside the State House to show support for a Colorado-style system to legalize marijuana, an idea that got a hearing later in the day. Also Thursday, a key committee approved a bill to loosen restrictions that some say have hampered the state's nascent medical marijuana program.
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec, The Baltimore Sun | March 12, 2014
I'm sure some Ravens fans hoped that the organization broke from its tradition of being patient at this time of year and went out and used much of the approximately $19 million of salary cap space that they had on the first day of free agency. Start out by signing one or two offensive linemen. Add a prized receiver. Go out and get a middle linebacker and then a play-making safety to anchor the defense. And then be done with it all until the May draft. Of course, that was never going to happen, even with the advantage of more cap flexibility than the organization has had in a good while.
SPORTS
By Jeff Zrebiec and The Baltimore Sun | March 7, 2014
I can't imagine that Ravens officials were too thrilled when they learned Thursday morning that inside linebacker D'Qwell Jackson , who was cut last week by the Cleveland Browns, was given a four-year, $22 million deal by the Indianapolis Colts that included $11 million in guaranteed money.  As I wrote earlier in the week, Jackson (Maryland) was going to be an interesting gauge for the market for Ravens middle linebacker Daryl Smith . It's not an exact comparison, because Jackson is about a year younger and a different player in a lot of ways.
NEWS
By David Horsey | February 25, 2014
Especially when it comes to economic policy, too many politicians are motivated by myths more than by facts. A prime example: the myth of the job creators. Republicans, such as Speaker of the House John Boehner, talk of job creators in reverent, worshipful terms. In their vision of how the world works, it is these brave titans of capitalism who, with no help from anyone else, build the companies that create jobs for American workers. To Mr. Boehner and his party, anything that inhibits job creators in their endeavors -- taxes, environmental laws, financial regulations -- is a job killer.
NEWS
By David Horsey | February 18, 2014
With the American South thawing out after a deep freeze, you can be sure that plenty of the folks are interpreting the big chill as more proof that global warming is a hoax. "Warming?" they scoff. "How can the planet be warming when it's so darn cold?" People in other parts of the world seem to have no great difficulty understanding the science, but in the good old USA, where quite a few people consider science just another political opinion, it is going to take a lot longer to get most people to accept the cold facts about a warmer world.
NEWS
September 26, 2013
I disagree with several points in your recent editorial about the ejection of a disruptive parent from a school board meeting in Baltimore County ("Robert Small deserves an apology," Sept. 23). You state it would have been better if the Baltimore County school superintendent had allowed a small breach in protocol. But for a long time many citizens felt have that "protocol" is used only to allow questions that bolster officials' desires, not to explore the proposals in question. I saw the way Mr. Small was treated as ridiculous.
SPORTS
By Edward Lee | March 9, 2012
Friday's edition of The Sun included an article on the top defenseman for five of the six teams participating in Saturday's Face-Off Classic at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore. Four of the five aforementioned have been named All Americans and one was arguably compiling an equally worthy season before suffering a season-ending shoulder injury last year. Lacrosse is a sport where goals are desired by fans and TV networks and players on the offensive side of the field throw no-look passes and shoot from behind their heads or between their legs.
SPORTS
By Edward Lee and The Baltimore Sun | January 27, 2014
The 2014 campaign opens this Saturday when High Point visits Delaware and Lehigh tangles with Furman, but the season doesn't begin locally until Feb. 7 when Loyola travels to Virginia. That means it's time to check in with ESPN analyst and former Johns Hopkins midfielder Mark Dixon. Dixon, who is on Twitter at @DixonLacrosse and will help provide analysis of a Feb. 16 doubleheader involving Ohio State-Massachusetts and Notre Dame-Jacksonville, has already watched several scrimmages in the area and offers some of his thoughts.
Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.