Advertisement
HomeCollectionsHome Inspection
IN THE NEWS

Home Inspection

FEATURED ARTICLES
BUSINESS
By Michael Gisriel | October 16, 1994
Q: Shortly, I'm planning to buy a house for my family. Should I get a home inspection? Also, what should a good home inspection include?S. Libowitz, BaltimoreA: A home inspection is always a good idea.A home inspector will inspect the home and its structural components objectively, and without emotion. The inspector should be an independent third party.The base price for a home inspection in the Baltimore metro area is about $175. However, homes with sales prices over $175,000 are usually slightly more expensive because larger homes often have more bathrooms, more kitchen appliances, and more family rooms that require more time to inspect.
ARTICLES BY DATE
BUSINESS
By Jamie Smith Hopkins, The Baltimore Sun | December 12, 2011
A modest increase in average home prices in November is the first upturn for the Baltimore region in more than a year, but beleaguered homeowners shouldn't cheer just yet. Though prices rose almost 1 percent on average compared with a year earlier, the median price - another common measure - fell 2.5 percent, according to numbers released Monday by Metropolitan Regional Information Systems. The diverging price measures are one symptom of a still-rough housing market trying to battle back to normal.
Advertisement
BUSINESS
By ILYCE GLINK | November 30, 2007
If you're buying a home, the last thing you want is an expensive surprise. Unfortunately, most of the things that can go wrong with a house tend to pack a powerful punch in the wallet. If you have to replace your hot water heater, expect to spend upward of $600. If you have to replace your furnace or central air conditioner, you could spend twice that or more. Even seemingly small problems, such as broken pipes, badly wired outlets or cracked paint, can cause a slow leak in your financial stability.
NEWS
By Nicole Fuller, The Baltimore Sun | November 16, 2011
Anne Arundel County officials are warning residents to beware of a scam aimed at the elderly advertising fraudulent Fire Department home inspections. An Annapolis resident received a letter purporting to be from the county Fire Department earlier this month. The letter stated that Fire Department officials would conducting a home inspection within the next month, a service that the department only does at businesses, officials said. County Executive John R. Leopold, warned residents that the letters are "fake.
NEWS
By Frederick N. Rasmussen and Frederick N. Rasmussen,SUN STAFF | October 27, 2002
James J. Wyman, who was an owner of a house inspection business, a sports referee and active in Republican politics, died of a heart attack Wednesday while refereeing a football game at John Carroll School in Bel Air. He was 50. The longtime Wiltondale resident was born in Washington and raised in Rockville and Monkton, where he graduated from Hereford High School in 1967. He earned his bachelor's degree in 1971 from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, N.Y., and in 1982 earned a second bachelor's degree in economics from what was then Towson State College.
BUSINESS
By Michael Gisriel | September 15, 1996
Dear Mr. Gisriel:I'm planning to buy a house shortly. Should I get a home inspection? Also, what should a good home inspection include?R. LambertBaltimoreDear Mr. Lambert:A home inspection is always a good idea.A home inspector will inspect the home and its structural components objectively and without emotion. The inspector should be an independent third party.The base price for a home inspection in the Baltimore metro area is about $175. However, homes with sales prices over $175,000 are usually slightly more expensive because larger homes often have more bathrooms, more kitchen appliances, and more family rooms that require extra time to inspect.
BUSINESS
December 13, 1998
Dear Mr. Azrael:My question is in regards to a deposit on a property.I put a $500 deposit down on a home that was contingent on a home inspection. I was worried about water problems in the basement. The inspector made the inspection. He told me and my wife and the agent and the women who lived there that he had bad news: There was water behind the paneling.I told my agent that I did not want to live with the fear of having water in the basement.The sellers said they would correct the water problems themselves by taking off the paneling and putting waterproof paint on it. But I still did not want to buy the house.
BUSINESS
By MICHAEL GISRIEL | November 5, 1995
Dear Mr. Gisriel: Shortly, I'm planning to buy a house for my family. Should I get a home inspection? Also, what should a good home inspection include?Richard LambertGlen BurnieDear Mr. Lambert: A home inspection is always a good idea.A home inspector will inspect the home and its structural components objectively, and without emotion. The inspector should be an independent third party.The base price for a home inspection in the Baltimore metro area is about $175. However, homes with sales prices over $175,000 are usually slightly more expensive.
BUSINESS
October 31, 1993
QUESTION: I soon will buy my first house and will have a huge deduction to take off my taxes. But I don't want to pay out so much for withholding taxes during the year and only get the money back next year when I file my taxes. What should I do?ANSWER: One of the primary financial advantages of homeownership is the tax deduction allowed to the homeowner. Typically, a homeowner can deduct from income all mortgage interest plus all real estate taxes.Therefore, the amount of interest and taxes to be paid in the coming year should be added together and divided by 12 -- this equals the monthly tax deduction the home will provide.
BUSINESS
September 29, 1996
Harbel Housing Partnership, Patterson Park Neighborhoods Initiative and Belair-Edison Housing Service, all Baltimore-based programs, are sponsoring free homeownership programs for first-time buyers and new homeowners in October.Harbel's workshops are slated for 6: 30 p.m. Oct. 8 and Oct. 15 at St. John's of Hamilton, 5315 Harford Road.Part one will cover housing affordability, credit, mortgages and Baltimore County's settlement expense loan program. The second session will provide information on working with a Realtor, contracts, settlement costs and home inspection.
NEWS
By Mary Gail Hare, The Baltimore Sun | August 17, 2011
A two-vehicle collision Wednesday propelled a privately owned ambulance into a Randallstown home and sent two people to Sinai Hospital. No one in the house at the intersection of Marriottsville and Winands roads was injured. At about 7:30 a.m., Baltimore County Police, responding to a cellphone call, found a Freestate Ambulance had run into the side of a home. The ambulance, which was not carrying a patient, had likely been side swiped by a car before it rammed the home, police said.
BUSINESS
By JAMIE SMITH HOPKINS | May 16, 2008
Few things in everyday life are as intimidating as first-time home buying can be. There's so much to consider, and you don't know what you don't know. So here's a rough to-do list - the steps buyers typically go through from start to finish. Keith L. Cross, a Realtor with Century 21 Downtown in Baltimore, suggests that Step One - long before you get your heart set on a particular price range - is to get pre-qualified for a mortgage. Next, identify your wants and needs. Where do you see yourself living?
BUSINESS
By ILYCE GLINK | November 30, 2007
If you're buying a home, the last thing you want is an expensive surprise. Unfortunately, most of the things that can go wrong with a house tend to pack a powerful punch in the wallet. If you have to replace your hot water heater, expect to spend upward of $600. If you have to replace your furnace or central air conditioner, you could spend twice that or more. Even seemingly small problems, such as broken pipes, badly wired outlets or cracked paint, can cause a slow leak in your financial stability.
BUSINESS
By Nancy Jones-Bonbrest and Nancy Jones-Bonbrest,Special to the Sun | November 1, 2006
Cindy Thalman Home inspector AmeriSpec Home Inspection Service, Waldorf Salary --$55,000 Age --40 Years on the job --Five How she got started --With a background in engineering and a degree in psychology, Thalman found herself working as a customer service representative for a builder and became a superintendent there. With three children, she was looking for better hours and more flexibility so she took the job as a home inspector. Typical day --She usually makes three daily inspections, five days a week.
NEWS
By JUSTIN FENTON and JUSTIN FENTON,SUN REPORTER | December 4, 2005
An Aberdeen official has asked for an inspection of a city-owned property that was leased to a homeless man earlier this year, saying there were concerns over the home's condition and the potential for liability issues. Councilman Michael G. Hiob filed the request last week after he was unable to find city or county records that show the house was properly inspected before Lewis B. Miller Jr. was given a one-year lease - free of charge - to get his life back on track. Miller moved out of the woods and into the vacant bungalow in March with the help of former City Manager Peter Dacey, who said he had the home informally inspected by the city's then-public works director.
BUSINESS
By NANCY JONES-BONBREST and NANCY JONES-BONBREST,SPECIAL TO THE SUN | December 4, 2005
"You never get a second chance to make a first impression" is advice home sellers often hear before the for-sale sign goes into the ground. It's usually followed by suggestions to paint the front door, de-clutter the house and repaint the interior a neutral shade. But some homeowners are going beyond the first impression and sprucing up the guts of the house by opting for a home inspection before it hits the market or taking it upon themselves to repair faulty or dated household items.
NEWS
By Nicole Fuller, The Baltimore Sun | November 16, 2011
Anne Arundel County officials are warning residents to beware of a scam aimed at the elderly advertising fraudulent Fire Department home inspections. An Annapolis resident received a letter purporting to be from the county Fire Department earlier this month. The letter stated that Fire Department officials would conducting a home inspection within the next month, a service that the department only does at businesses, officials said. County Executive John R. Leopold, warned residents that the letters are "fake.
BUSINESS
April 26, 1998
Dear Mr. Azrael:Recently, my fiance and I jointly purchased a home. It was a foreclosure as-is home. We are seniors and we were told by the representative that everything was in good condition with no major upgrades. We have moved in with the following problems that we were not aware of: a defective gas range; disposal not working; plumbing problems and some electrical problems.The house sold at the regular price in this area. What course of action can be taken, if any, as I feel that we were misled.
BUSINESS
By Nancy Jones-Bonbrest and Nancy Jones-Bonbrest,SPECIAL TO THE SUN | June 19, 2005
Ben Nacev knows how hard it can be to buy a house. After two unsuccessful attempts this year, he finally came up a winner when the seller of a Govans house accepted his contract. "It's pretty crazy," said Nacev, who settled on the $114,000 property June 7. "But I would say, don't get too wrapped up in it. Realize when you go into it, you may have to go through two or three rounds." Nacev's experience is one that's become common at a time when high demand and historically low interest rates continue to fuel a fast-paced seller's market.
BUSINESS
August 15, 2004
An unhappy first-time homebuyer writes that her newly purchased home flooded during heavy rains. "I thought any problems with a home were supposed to be disclosed," she writes. Another homebuyer complains that she was unaware until just before settlement that the home she had agreed to buy had a broken air conditioner and a furnace in need of major repairs. What are a homebuyer's rights when undisclosed defects are discovered? Builders who sell new homes are required by statute to correct defects that appear within specified times after closing.
Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.