Advertisement
HomeCollectionsComplaints
IN THE NEWS

Complaints

NEWS
By Alison Knezevich, The Baltimore Sun | August 27, 2013
The Baltimore County Ethics Commission said Tuesday it will not file a complaint against a Dundalk councilman who for years did not disclose his outside employment — including a stint at a company that did business with the county schools — saying that he has corrected the omissions. Councilman John Olszewski Sr., a Democrat, filed amended financial disclosure forms dating to 2009 after the omissions were reported by news organizations this year. Assistant County Attorney Susan Dubin, the commission's lawyer, said county law gives a public official 15 days to remedy or "cure" a situation in which an alleged violation of ethics rules has occurred.
Advertisement
NEWS
August 20, 2013
Del. Joseph F. Vallario Jr., the Prince George's County Democrat who chairs the House Judiciary Committee, is the frequent target of accusations that his public role and private interests conflict. That criticism usually boils down to a disagreement with his views on legislation and anger at his willingness to use his power to bottle up bills he doesn't like. But a complaint filed against him with the legislature's ethics committee is different; it centers on discussions about a piece of legislation that became law (in fact, one he voted for)
NEWS
By Alison Knezevich, The Baltimore Sun | August 9, 2013
Baltimore County officials have ordered a Parkville-area roller-skating rink to cancel an Aug. 16 club-themed event after complaints about crowds of teenagers disturbing residents and businesses as they leave the rink at closing time. This week, the county Department of Permits, Approvals and Inspections sent a letter to Skateland Putty Hill on Belair Road saying the business operated in a way that produces "excessive noise, traffic congestion, vandalism" and other activities creating a public nuisance.
NEWS
August 8, 2013
I always find it amusing how people that buy into less desirable neighborhoods are quick to complain when the thing that made their home less wanted - and cheaper - gets even worse ( "Study finds planned CSX transfer station could have negative impact," Aug. 5). I feel for these people, but CSX was there long before they were. I am a huge railroad fan and stockholder and I believe we have no more room for more lanes on our gridlocked highways. I have been advocating for a viable high-speed rail system that will take you anywhere in the continental U.S. within 24 hours and have made a valid proposal to all of the sources that be. What CSX is doing here is vital to the Port of Baltimore and part of a long overdue enhancement of the local rail infrastructure.
BUSINESS
Eileen Ambrose | July 31, 2013
The fastest growing consumer complaints? In order:  Towing disputes, landlord/tenant problems, abusive debt collection practices, telephone billing issues and unlicensed contractors. That's according to an annual survey releaseed today by the Consumer Federation of America and the North American Consumer Protection Investigators. The CFA's Susan Grant says consumers are still suffering from recession-related problems such as foreclosure rescue scams, and landlords skimping on heat or ignoring repairs to save money.
NEWS
July 12, 2013
Some residents of Somerset County - the part of Maryland that sustained the worst damage from last fall's Superstorm Sandy - are upset that the state's application for federal disaster aid would exclude from eligibility those with an income of greater than $48,000 a year for a household of two. That would leave out almost half of the county's homeowners, including teachers, firefighters and other working families, critics say. The cutoff for eligibility is...
NEWS
July 6, 2013
I read Sen. Nancy Jacobs' recent commentary on higher tolls and taxes in hopes that someone opposed to the increases would offer some viable alternatives ("Marylanders' wallets run on empty," July 2). Sadly, I found it to be another "Oh-that-awful-O'Malley," "Oh-those-horrible-Democrats" rant - heavy on complaining and light on suggestions for raising the needed funds without increasing tolls or the gas tax. Hey, I don't like the increases either. But the money to maintain and repair roads and bridges has to come from somewhere.
NEWS
By Kevin Rector, The Baltimore Sun | July 6, 2013
Suddenly and inexplicably one August night in 2011, the steel door of Steven Gabriel's jail cell at the Baltimore City Detention Center was unlocked and opened, according to documents he filed in state and federal court. Someone with a "flip-out pocket knife" stabbed him multiple times, he wrote, and he bled in his cell for several hours before being rushed to the hospital. In two civil lawsuits demanding compensation for his injuries, Gabriel, 24, has placed blame squarely on the corrections officers overseeing his unit, saying only they could have unlocked his cell.
NEWS
By Arthur Hirsch, The Baltimore Sun | June 23, 2013
Howard County land-use attorney Susan Gray says there's just one option left in pressing her claim that the county has for years deprived citizens of their constitutional rights. It's a long shot, she knows: the U.S. Supreme Court. The case Gray, resident Paul F. Kendall and others have been pursuing since 2009 was recently rejected by the Maryland Court of Appeals. That ruling backed earlier rejections by the state Court of Special Appeals and Howard County Circuit Court. Kendall, who is also a lawyer, has been representing himself in the appeal.
NEWS
By Jean Marbella, The Baltimore Sun | June 22, 2013
My favorite story in The Baltimore Sun last week was by my colleague Eileen Ambrose , reporting on how Marylanders are a bunch of whiners, at least according to a state-by-state breakdown of the complaints received by the federal Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Predictably enough, the story drew a few online comments, most of which were complaints themselves. Yes, complaints about a story about complaints, leading inevitably to complaints about other commenters' complaints.
Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.