Ben's Cat seeks third Laurel Dash win in four years

Erick Rodriguez returns to Maryland jockey colony

September 27, 2014|Sports Digest

Et cetera

Ben's Cat seeks third Laurel Dash victory

Ben's Cat will run today in the $100,000 Laurel Dash with a chance to move ahead of Hall of Famer Safely Kept in earnings among Maryland-breds. The Dash is one of six stakes races on the 12-race card. The card will feature five open stakes races on the turf and the Jameela Stakes for Maryland-bred and/or sired runners. All the races drew double-digit fields. The Laurel Dash drew 11 entries, including one on the also-eligible list. The 11/2-mile Laurel Turf Cup (race 10) features a full field of 14. The Laurel Futurity (race 5) for 2-year-olds has 10 runners. The Selima Stakes (race 3) for 2-year-old fillies attracted 13 entries. The Lady Baltimore Stakes (race 7) for fillies and mares has 15 runners. The Jameela (race 8) garnered 12 runners. Ben's Cat, who became the seventh Maryland-bred to reach $2 million in earnings this summer, will be looking to win the Laurel Dash for the third time in four years. The King Leatherbury homebred won the 2011 Laurel Dash, a race taken off the turf, was upset by Jazzy Idea two years ago and won last year's edition at odds of 3-5.

More horse racing: Erick Rodriguez, who has won nearly 870 races at Laurel and Pimlico Race Course since 2003, has returned to the Maryland jockey colony after spending the past five months at Presque Isle Downs in Pennsylvania, where he finished fourth in the rider standings.

Orioles: MASN will offer pregame and postgame programs throughout the playoffs, Jim Cuddihy, the channel's executive vice president, said Friday. The network will air a one-hour special, "O's Xtra: Playoff Preview," at 7 p.m. Wednesday and will have one-hour pre- and postgame shows starting Thursday.

To read more of David Zurawik's blog post on the TV coverage, go to

Men's basketball: Former Morgan State forward DeWayne Jackson has signed a contract to play professionally in Europe with BC Beroe, a team in Bulgaria's top league. The 2013 first-team All-Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference selection helped lead Morgan State to the league title game last season. Jackson, who grew up in Bowie, averaged 13.8 points per game last season for the Bears.

Major League Lacrosse: Ohio Machine president and general manager John Algie will step down effective Friday. Vice president and head coach Bear Davis, the former coach at Archbishop Spalding, will assume responsibility for lacrosse operations.

Women's college lacrosse: Heading into her first season as Saint Joseph's coach, former Maryland goaltender Alex Kahoe has named a pair of former Terps, Colleen Dawson and Katie Gallagher, to her staff. Dawson spent the past two years as the director of lacrosse operations at Loyola Maryland.

Men's college soccer: Host Maryland (3-3-2, 1-1-1) earned its first Big Ten conference win with a 2-0 victory against Wisconsin (1-5-1, 0-2). The Terps outshot the Badgers 14-4 and got goals from sophomore Michael Sauers (Archbishop Curley) and senior Dan Metzger in the 53rd and 59th minutes, respectively.

Women's college soccer: Maryland senior defender Shade Pratt's goal in the 17th minute was enough for the Terps to beat host Iowa, 1-0, Thursday. Maryland improved to 4-3-2 overall and 2-1-1 in Big Ten Conference play, while the Hawkeyes fell to 8-2-0, 3-1-0. ... Navy (5-3-3, 1-1 Patriot League) rolled to a 4-0 victory over Lafay-ette (3-6, 0-2) on Friday.

College field hockey: No. 4 Maryland (6-2, 1-1) earned its first Big Ten victory with a 2-0 win at No. 14 Michigan (6-3, 1-1).

College tennis: McDaniel named Jason Clark coach of its men's and women's teams. He was an assistant at McDonogh in 2005.

Women's college volleyball: Washington College named senior middle hitter Sarah Beresik, junior middle hitter Jess Daunoras and junior outside hitter Kristin Lee (River Hill) as captains.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.