Wilde Lake's Eisenhauer adds to achievements with Howard County Invitational win

No. 7 Liberty boys win team cross country title; No. 3 River Hill girls knock off host and No. 1 Centennial

  • Wilde Lake's David Eisenhauer won comfortably at the Howard County Invitational cross country meet at Centennial.
Wilde Lake's David Eisenhauer won comfortably at the… (Jen Rynda / Baltimore Sun…)
September 13, 2014|By Jeff Seidel | For The Baltimore Sun

David Eisenhauer quickly made a name for himself during his first cross country season last fall after his family moved here from Washington state. As a junior at Wilde Lake, he found success in big races, capping his season with a second-place finish in the Class 3A state meet.

Eisenhauer has continued that success this fall. He scored a 49-second victory at the Seahawk Invitational last week and posted another big win in Saturday's Howard County Invitational at Centennial.

The senior won on a cloudy morning, finishing in 16 minutes, 37.44 seconds and easily beating out Paint Branch's Lorenzo Neil (17:06.64). Eisenhauer said his back-to-back victories have made him feel stronger, even though it's still early in the season.

He also has become much more well known this season. Eisenhauer's family moved to the area from Yakima, Wash., about two hours away from Seattle. In his last cross country season there, two years ago, Eisenhauer was one of just two runners on his high school team.

His competition in Howard county certainly knows what he can do now. That's what happens after you finish in third in the 2013 Howard County title meet, win the Class 3A East Region title and place second in the state.

"I'm hearing people yelling out, 'Go, David'," he said. "Last year, they were saying: 'Who is that guy?' "

The No. 7 Liberty boys won the team title with 84 points, beating out No. 10 Mount Hebron (111). Chad Sussman's third-place finish sparked the Lions, who also got top-20 efforts from Kieran White (14th) and Nick Tilson (15th).

The No. 3 River Hill girls turned in a strong team effort to knock off No. 1 Centennial. River Hill put two runners in the top 10 and five in the top 20 to finish with 68 points and beat the Eagles (84). No. 8 Liberty (125) finished in third place.

Allison Krein (seventh) and Elizabeth Oldhouser (ninth) paced River Hill, which had seven runners finish in the top 30. Centennial edged River Hill by three points in a meet last week and beat the Hawks by 47 in last year's Howard County Invitational.

That's why River Hill coach Earl Lauer was so pleased with Saturday's performance.

"It's a mixture of young girls and senior leaders," Lauer said. "I think we're as good as anybody."

Shreya Nalubola led Centennial with her first-place finish, using a late kick to edge out Brit Lang of Oakland Mills and win the event for the second straight year in a time of 19:09.26. Lang took second, in 19:11.06.

"It was difficult," Nalubola said. "Brit has an amazing kick. She pushes me."

Howard County Invitational

(at Centennial)


Team scores (top 5): 1. Liberty, 84; 2. Mount Hebron, 111; 3. Atholton, 122; 4. River Hill, 137 (wins fourth by tie-breaker); 5. Wilde Lake, 137.

Individual results (top 10): 1. Eisenhauer (WL), 16:37.44; 2. Neil (PB), 17:06.64; 3. Sussman (LIB), 17:17.35; 4. Moody (RH), 17:20.23; 5. Lockett (POO), 17:21.07; 6. Edmondson (MH), 17:23.61; 7. Navarro (OAK), 17:30.94; 8. Smart (WL), 17:36.66; 9. Smolyak (ATH), 17:39.85; 10. Lefors (ATH), 17:40.05.


Team scores (top 5): 1. River Hill, 68; 2. Centennial, 84; 3. Liberty, 125; 4. Marriotts Ridge, 143; 5. South Carroll, 169.

Individual results (top 10): 1. Nalubola (CEN), 19:09.26; 2. Lang (OAK), 19:11.06; 3. King (FIE), 19:32.91; 4. Ponton (RES), 19:53.79; 5. Albright (MR), 20:02.00; 6. McIntyre (CEN), 20:08.72; 7. Caldwell (MID), 20:16.00; 8. Krein (RH), 20:34.51; 9. Lyons (LIB), 20:39.64; 10. Oldhouser (RH), 20:41.49.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.