Acosta rides four winners, increases State Fair lead

August 31, 2014|Sports Digest

Horse racing

Acosta rides four winners, increases State Fair lead

JD Acosta padded his lead in the jockey standings when he rode four winners on the 10-race program at the Maryland State Fair. Last year's leading rider has 11 wins during the first five days of the meeting. On Saturday, he won the fourth race with Late Start ($3.60), the fifth with Dixie Deputy ($4.40), the sixth with Steel Curtain ($4.20) and the finale with Corporate Measure ($10.80). Hugh McMahon saddled two winners to move ahead of King Leatherbury in the trainer standings with two days of racing remaining.

Et cetera

Featherstone to fight Bustos on Sept. 20 card

Jerome Featherstone Jr. (Boys' Latin) will fight Francisco Bustos of Washington for the East Coast middleweight title on the "Wiggle, Wiggle, Wiggle" card of Olympic-style boxing Sept. 20 at 8:15 p.m. at William Myers Pavilion. Joey "Bazooka Joe" Veazey of Baltimore challenges Keayen Coleman for the Maryland State welterweight championship in the semi-main event. Locals Donald Wallace and Meach Al Tashy will appear in separate undercard bouts, while Justin Knight meets Allen Burris for the state junior middleweight crown. The card is being presented by Jake "The Snake" Smith's Baltimore Boxing Promotions, which will honor Jake's father, the late Murray Smith, by giving the "School of Hard Knocks" Award in his name to former world champion and Baltimore native Vincent Pettway. Tickets, priced at $25 to $50, may be purchased by calling 410-375-9175. For more information, go to

NBA: A person with knowledge of the situation confirmed that the NBA will assign the Fort Wayne Mad Ants as the Washington Wizards' D-League affiliate. The move was necessary because the Memphis Grizzlies and the Iowa Energy — the Wizards' affiliate the previous three seasons — entered a single-affiliation partnership in May. The Energy — based in Des Moines — served as the minor-league partner for the Wizards, New Orleans Pelicans, Denver Nuggets and Minnesota Timberwolves last season. Fort Wayne is the only D-League club remaining of the 18 without some form of single-affiliation partnership with an NBA club. The Wizards are one of 13 remaining NBA franchises without an exclusive D-League partnership.

Jorge Castillo, The Washington Post

Lacrosse: Aloha Tournaments is partnering with the One Love Foundation in Honor of Yeardley Reynolds Love for two of its existing fall tournaments. The Brine Chesapeake Lacrosse Cup on Sept. 28 and the Brine Indian Summer Lacrosse Tournament on Oct. 18 will be presented by Aloha Tournaments and the One Love Foundation. The events will allow the foundation One Love Foundation to educate players and their families on its mission to end relationship violence and to raise money for the foundation. A portion of every registration fee will go to the One Love Foundation. For information, go to, and

NFL: The Washington Redskins waived kicker Zach Hocker, offensive lineman Maurice Hurt, cornerback Chase Minnifield, running back Evan Royster, running back Lache Seastrunk, safety Phillip Thomas, running back Chris Thompson and wide receiver Nick Williams. Washington also released linebacker Everette Brown, placed nose tackle Chris Neild and linebacker Darryl Sharpton on injured reserve, and put defensive end Stephen Bowen and wide receiver Leonard Hankerson on the physically unable to perform list.

From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.