17 area boys named All-Americans by US Lacrosse

Six graduated seniors receive Bob Scott Award

July 03, 2014|The Baltimore Sun

Seventeen high school players from the Baltimore area were honored as All-Americans when US Lacrosse announced its Group 2 All-Americans on Thursday. Nationally, over 600 players and 100 coaches in the group were recognized for their efforts on and off the field.

Six graduated seniors from the area were selected as winners of the Bob Scott Award. The award recognizes a player from each area who goes "above and beyond" in service to his team, school and community.

Bob Scott Award winners 

Anne Arundel County -- Kiernan Jenkins, defense, Severna Park
Carroll County -- Aaron Heinle, midfield, North Carroll
Eastern Shore -- Patrick Garvey, attack, Kent Island
Harford County -- Daniel Gorski, midfield, Edgewood
Howard County -- Robert Thyberg, defense, River Hill
MIAA -- Hunter Moreland, midfield, Boys' Latin

Following are the US Lacrosse All-Americans from Maryland, with graduation year noted. For more information, go the US Lacrosse website. (For the area's All-America girls, go here.)

Anne Arundel County

Kiernan Jenkins, 2014, defense, Severna Park 

Craig Chick, 2015, defense, South River

Carroll County

Ryan Hursey, 2014, midfield, Westminster

Eastern Shore

Johnny Giuffreda, 2014, attack, Kent Island
Zach Goodrich, 2014, midfield, Kent Island


Matt Casto, 2014, attack, Frederick
Ryan Crompton, 2014, goalie, Middletown
Brandon Plante, 2014, attack, Urbana

Harford County

Calvin Fleagle, 2014, attack, Bel Air
Keegan Teluk, 2014, midfield, Fallston

Howard County

John Travasino, 2014, Midfield, Howard
Andrew Gavlin, 2014, Attack, Centennial


Shack Stanwick, 2014, attack, Boys' Latin
Mikey Wynne, 2014, attack, St. Paul's
Brinton Valis, 2014, midfield, McDonogh
Timmy Kelly, 2015, attack, Calvert Hall
Ryan Conrad, 2015, midfield, Loyola 

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.