Early voting for primary election begins Thursday

  • Democrat Lt. Gov. Anthony Brown and Republican Larry Hogan have secured strong advantages over their respective fields.
Democrat Lt. Gov. Anthony Brown and Republican Larry Hogan…

Early voting for the primary election begins Thursday and runs until the following Thursday, June 19.

This year, there will be four early voting sites in Harford County, an increase of three since the last election, because of higher registration numbers.

The Harford early voting locations are the McFaul Center in Bel Air at 525 W. MacPhail Road; Edgewood library at 629 Edgewood Road; Jarrettsville library at 3722 Norrisville Road; and the University Center in Aberdeen (formerly the HEAT Center) at 1201 Technology Drive.

All early voting locations are open from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. and all are handicapped accessible.

Primary Election Day is Tuesday, June 24, when polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in 88 precincts at 65 locations in Harford County.

As of the close of registration for the primary June 3, Harford has 165,244 active registered voters: 68,985 Republicans, 63,316 Democrats and 32,943 voters who are not affiliated with a party or registered with a minor party, according to Dale Livingston, Harford's deputy elections director.

Voters across the state in both major parties will choose their respective nominees for governor, comptroller and attorney general. The Republican ballot for governor includes Harford County Executive David Craig and three others – Ron George, Larry Hogan and Charles Lollar.

This year's elections in Harford include races for local offices, including county executive, county council and president, sheriff, state delegate and senator as well as state's attorney and the Harford County Board of Education, among others.

In some races, such as county executive and state's attorney, only a single candidate has filed in each party, but their names will be on the primary ballot regardless. That's also the case with Circuit Judge Yolanda Curtin, who does not have an opponent in her retention election and will be on both the Republican and Democrat primary ballots.

Democratic and Republican voters will also choose members of their respective party central committees.

In Harford County, voters who aren't affiliated with either of the major parties can vote for school board members in the primary, as those elections are non-partisan.

There will be a separate non-partisan ballot for these voters, Livingston, of the Harford Elections Board, said. School board members run in their respective county council districts and are selected only by the voters in the district.

All six of the school board races in Harford are contested and the first two finishers in the primary in each district will then square off in the November general election. Among the six, however, the District A race has only two candidates.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.