Wade helps Terps win ACC baseball tourney opener

St. Paul's alumnus homers twice in 7-6 victory over Virginia

May 23, 2014|Sports Digest

College baseball

Wade helps Terps win ACC tourney opener

Maryland first baseman LaMonte Wade (St. Paul's) hit two solo home runs and catcher Kevin Martir and center fielder Charlie White each added one to help the sixth-seeded Terps edge No. 3 seed Virginia, 7-6, in their Atlantic Coast Conference tournament pool-play opener Thursday in Greensboro, N.C. The Terps (35-19) had eight hits, six for extra bases, to win their school-record 35th game of the season. Jake Stinnett struck out 10 and allowed 10 hits and two runs in eight innings. Maryland will face second-seeded Florida State at 11 a.m. today.

More Division I: Mount St. Mary's junior catcher Andrew Clow (C. Milton Wright) was named to the All-Northeast Conference first team. Junior third baseman Kory Britton (Atholton) earned All-NEC second-team honors. … UMBC center fielder Andrew Casali and infielder-catcher Hunter Dolshun were selected to the All-America East rookie team.

Et cetera

Five Terps selected to USILA All-America teams

Maryland senior midfielder Michael Chanenchuk, senior long-stick midfielder Michael Ehrhardt, junior defenseman Goran Murray and senior goalkeeper Niko Amato were named to the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-America first team. Senior faceoff specialist Charlie Raffa earned second-team honors.

More USILA Division I honors: Johns Hopkins senior defenseman Jack Reilly and junior long-stick midfielder Michael Pellegrino earned second-team honors, and junior attackman Wells Stanwick (Boys' Latin), sophomore attackman Ryan Brown (Calvert Hall) and sophomore midfielder Holden Cattoni received honorable mention. … UMBC attackman Matt Gregoire (South River) received honorable mention. … Loyola Maryland senior defenseman Joe Fletcher was selected to the first team, while senior short-stick midfielder Pat Laconi, senior goalkeeper Jack Runkel and senior attacker Justin Ward made the second team. Junior attackman Nikko Pontrello received honorable mention. … Navy senior long-stick midfielder Pat Kiernan received honorable mention . … Ohio State senior defenseman Joe Meurer (McDonogh) received honorable mention All-American and was named a Scholar All-American. … Duke sophomore Deemer Class (Loyola) made the first team.

Division I lacrosse radio: SiriusXM will broadcast the NCAA semifinals and national championship games. Play-by-play, pregame and postgame coverage will be available to subscribers on SiriusXM College Sports Nation, satellite radios, the SiriusXM Internet Radio App and online at SiriusXM.com.

College softball: CCBC-Dundalk center fielder Krista Kelly was selected by the National Junior College Athletic Association as a Marucci DII Softball Elite Hitter. … CCBC-Catonsville pitcher Samantha O'Connor (Howard) was named to the NJCAA All-American Division II third team.

National Women's Soccer League: Awarded a penalty kick after a handball in the box in the second minute of added time, midfielder Diana Matheson converted to help the Washington Spirit (3-4-1) rally to a 3-3 tie with Sky Blue FC (1-3-4) on Wednesday night at the Maryland SoccerPlex in Boyds. Midfielder Lori Lindsey brought the Spirit to within 3-2 in the 74th minute after stealing the ball and scoring from distance on a shot that bounced off a defender, goalie Jill Loyden and the goal post. Washington defender Robyn Gayle scored the game's only goal of the first half in the 39th minute.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.