Scholar Athlete Dinner to honor 69 high school football players

  • North Harford quarterback Nicholas Hammer is among the 69 football scholar athletes to be honored Wednesday.
North Harford quarterback Nicholas Hammer is among the 69 football… (Scott Serio, Patuxent Publishing )
March 10, 2014|By Katherine Dunn | The Baltimore Sun

Sixty-nine of the area's most academic-minded high school football players will be honored Wednesday night at the 51st Annual Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner sponsored by the Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame at Martin’s West.

Five of the players from Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Harford and Howard counties will receive regional scholarships, sharing $20,000 in scholarship money.

In addition to the scholars, the event also honors the area's top football teams from last fall. The two state champions covered by the Greater Baltimore Chapter, Class 3A winner Franklin and Class 2A winner Midldletown, will receive Ben Eaton Sr. Championship awards. The honor recognizes the legacy of the late Dunbar football coach.

McDonogh, the MIAA A Conference champion and The Baltimore Sun's No. 1 team, will receive the A. Paul Menton Award as the Greater Baltimore area's top-rated prep team.

The Towson University football team also will be recognized for its stellar 2013 season, which culminated in an appearance in the Football Championship Subdivision championship game.

The following are the high school scholar athletes to be honored:

Brian Anderson, City

Imani Anderson, Dulaney

Kenneth Armiger, St. Mary’s

Harpal Bains, Eastern Tech

Austin Baltimore, Patterson Mil

André Beckles, Milford Mill

Alexander Berencz, Sparrows Point

Robert Carter Jr., Long Reach

Justice Cash, Annapolis

Nicholas Davis, Perry Hall

Peter DeGuzman, Towson

Alvin Dennis Jr., Aberdeen

Brian DeStefano, Severn

Darien Dixon, McDonogh

Chris Fatogoma, New Town

Jacob Fernandez, Manchester Valley

Marquise Findley-Smith, Atholton

Nicholas Gesualdi, Boys Latin

Peter Grenchik, St. Vincent Pallotti

Nicholas Hammer, North Harford

Jacob Hawk, Meade

Jacob Heaton, Brunswick

Alex Helm, Fallston

Keonté Henson, Broadneck

Ryan Hursey, Westminster

Bryan Jangro, Mt. St. Joseph

Kieran Jenkins, Severna Park

Dylan Jones, Archbishop Spalding

Samuel Keenan, St. Paul’s

John Kenny, Loyola

Logan Kirby, River Hill

Shawn Kluchinsky, Edgewood

Kwame Kumah, Arundel

Arnoldas Linkevicius, Parkville

David MacGregor, Liberty

Mark Marciszewski, Calvert Hall

Tyler Martin, Hammond

Francis Marzen, C. Milton Wright

Sidney Mason, Western Tech

Stelios Mastoras, Poly

Joshua McClain, Thomas Johnson

Connor McCowan, Southern

James McNeill, Urbana

Marquis Miller, Franklin

Arianit Musliu, North County

Gennaro Nappi, Havre de Grace

Benjamin Nardo, South Carroll

Chandler Parrish, Old Mill

John Radcliffe, Wilde Lake

Benjamin Robbins, Gilman

Ryan Robertson, Walkersville

Julian Robinson, Catonsville

Joseph Romano, Patapsco

Richard Rosas, Francis Scott Key

Nicholas Sala, Marriotts Ridge

Mitchell Sgrignoli, Middletown

Jonathan Shinholt, Century

James Sorrells, South River

Samuel Stanton, Winters Mill

Thomas Stone, Mount Hebron

Scott Tibert, Chesapeake-AA

John Travisano Jr., Howard

Tyler Trojan, Dundalk

Nigel Tucker, Archbishop Curley

Justin Tunis, North Carroll

Brock Turnbaugh, Hereford

William Veney III, Joppatowne

Benjamin Webber, Bel Air

Gabriel Weigelt, Catoctin

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.