Eight local men's lacrosse players named to Tewaaraton Watch List

  • Maryland goalie Niko Amato was one of three Terps named to the 2014 Tewaaraton Award Watch List.
Maryland goalie Niko Amato was one of three Terps named to the… (Greg Wall / For The Baltimore…)
February 27, 2014|By Alexander Pyles | The Baltimore Sun

Eight men's lacrosse players at Maryland colleges and universities were named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List on Thursday, including three Terps.

From Maryland, senior goalie Niko Amato, senior midfielder Mike Chanenchuk, senior defenseman Michael Ehrhardt were named to the list.

Loyola had two players named: senior defenseman Joe Fletcher and senior attack Justin Ward.

Other players named to the list include Towson senior attack Thomas DeNapoli, UMBC sophomore attack Nate Lewnes and Johns Hopkins junior attack Wells Stanwick.

The Tewaaraton Award annually goes to the top men's and women's college lacrosse player.  Players not named to the list could play their way onto it as the season progresses. Additions will be announced on March 20 and April 10, according to the Tewaaraton Foundation.

On April 24, the field will be narrowed to five male and five female finalists. The award will be presented on May 29 in Washington, D.C.



Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.