Changes coming to Howard delegation

January 02, 2014|By Amanda Yeager,

Howard County's representation in Annapolis will see some significant change after this year's session comes to a close.

This will be the last session for some of the Howard delegation's members. District 13 Sen. Jim Robey and District 12B Del. Liz Bobo, both Democrats, announced last year that they would not run for re-election. District 9 Sen. Allan Kittleman will give up his seat after 2014 in the hopes of becoming the county's first Republican county executive since 1998. And Dels. Guy Guzzone, a Democrat from District 13, and Gail Bates, a Republican from District 9A, are making a bid to claim the Senate seats that Robey and Kittleman are leaving behind, respectively.

Howard County voters will also be represented by three new seats in the House due to redistricting. District 9B, currently represented by Carroll County Del. Susan Krebs, will now be a Howard County district, encompassing Ellicott City and parts of Columbia and Elkridge. District 9A, currently Howard County-only, will incorporate parts of southern Carroll County come 2015.

And, District 12, currently divided into two subdistricts in the House — 12B is represented by Bobo and 12A is represented by Jimmy Malone and Steven DeBoy, both Democrats from Baltimore County — will become one unified district at both the House and Senate levels, opening up the possibility for Howard to pick up another seat or two. Malone and DeBoy, like Bobo, have announced they will not run for re-election, and a flurry of candidates — nine Democrats and two Republicans, so far — have thrown their hats into the ring.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.