Mega Millions jackpot balloons to $550 million after no one wins Friday drawing

Top prize has reached the second-largest amount in its history

  • Larry Jacobs of South Baltimore buys a Mega Millions ticket from Henry Reisinger, the owner of the Fenwick Meats stand in Cross Street Market.
Larry Jacobs of South Baltimore buys a Mega Millions ticket… (Lloyd Fox, Baltimore Sun )
December 14, 2013|By Nayana Davis and Tim Swift | The Baltimore Sun

Those hoping for an instant fortune have another chance at lottery glory after Friday's massive Mega Millions drawing turned out no big winner.

Lottery players now stand to win $550 million, with a cash option of $229 million. Officials announced an increase in the jackpot early Saturday morning. A flurry of ticket sales between now and the next drawing on Tuesday could send the prize even higher.

The jackpot -- the now fourth largest in U.S. history -- has been growing since Oct. 1. In that drawing, an Anne Arundel County man, who chose to remain anonymous, won $189 million, said Carole Everett, a spokeswoman for the Maryland Lottery and Gaming Control Agency.

As of 2 p.m. Friday, Mega Millions tickets have been selling at a rate of 67 per second in Maryland alone Everett said.

In October, the multi-state lottery adjusted its rules, which has contributed to the larger jackpots. The lottery now pulls from a pool of 75 white balls and 15 yellow or mega balls. The change has allowed for more lower tiered winners, but has made the top prize even harder to come by. 

Your odds of winning the jackpot used to be 1 in 176 million. As of Oct. 22, those odds changed to 1 in 259 million.

The largest Mega Millions jackpot, $656 million, was won in 2012. The prize money was divided between three winners in Kansas, Illinois and Maryland.

According to, the winning numbers in Friday's 11 p.m. drawing are: 19, 24, 26, 27, 70 and mega ball 12. 

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.