This year's AMC Holiday House Tour in Harford County will be held on Sunday, Dec. 15, from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. The tour benefits the AMC Cancer Fund and Johns Hopkins Pediatric Oncology Center.
For further information, call 410-734-4808.
Visitors will be able to tour six holiday-decorated homes in Bel Air, Forest Hill and Darlington. The tour also features three extra stops to eat, shop and delight.
Tickets are $20 and can be purchased at Broom's Bloom, Richardson's Florist, Tea by Two, Preston's Stationery, Simply Grande, Kroh's Nursery, Jonathan's Florist and Greenspring Gift House.
Here are the stops on this year's AMC Holiday House Tour:
Dorris Home - 1834 Hamlet Place North in Bel Air.
Glenn and Susan Dorris enjoy their contemporary-style home in Tudor Manor, which they built in 1993 when they moved from Dallas. In 2005 a pool was added and completely transformed their backyard. Glenn races his sailboat on Middle River and the Chesapeake Bay. Susan is very active in golf, sewing and quilting, and enjoys her sewing studio and a separate room for quilting with a long-arm quilting machine. She has a knack for decorating and always makes their home a warm and inviting place during the holidays. The home's great colors and simple, but elegant, touches blend to make for a very traditional Christmas decor.
Garrett Home - 1407 E. Churchville Road in Bel Air.
The Garrett family home was built in 1878 and will be decorated as was typical for that time period. This property was originally the W.L. Grant Dairy Farm and the farmhouse is barely visible from the road, but a long welcoming driveway passes a yard filled with concrete statuary that was designed by LeAlyce Garrett's late husband, "Dub," and includes a 40-foot Christmas dragon. The house is furnished with antiques and decorated with fresh greens, candles, toys and many nutcrackers. Visitors will enjoy collections of decoys and Polish pottery as you munch cookies and sip cider. Santa's chief elf took up residence in the silo playhouse this year, and his home (elf size, of course) is completely decorated for viewing as well.
Butler Home - 1418 Tayside Way in Bel Air.
Alan and Kristen Butler are showcasing their three-year-old, 8,000-square-foot home in the Glenangus neighborhood. The imposing stone and stucco home is warm and inviting, featuring a family room tree decorated with some of Kristen's mother's traditional pieces. Kristen says Christmas as her favorite holiday. Don't miss this gorgeous home with its sophisticated artistic pieces, scented candles and the kid-friendly tree in the basement.
Shaffner Home - 1615 Saddle Ridge Court in Forest Hill.
Hal and Teresa Shaffner decorate with multiple trees set in a beautiful home with a strong color palette. The family tree is 12 feet tall and showcases a collection of Radko ornaments, as well as the family's collection of ornaments spanning 35 years. The sunroom tree is done in a food theme. The dining room tree features Mark Roberts Fairies, and the kitchen is decorated with a gingerbread theme. Enjoy the tree and the seasonal aromas wafting throughout.
Zealor Home – 2108 Brandy Drive in Forest Hill.
The main level of the house was inspired by Bob and Maureen Zealor's love of Colonial Williamsburg. By removing the original dining room, the living space was greatly increased making it perfect for gracious entertaining. The garage was converted to a formal dining room featuring a stunning crystal chandelier. Bob designed the lower level family room, which is a comfortable contemporary contrast to the formal main level. Look for wonderful adornments of greenery, which echoes the Williamsburg theme throughout the home. The family Christmas tree is decorated with vintage glass ornaments collected through the years. Enjoy the collection of old Santa Clauses featuring Williamsburg chalk ware, blue salt glaze and wood.
Little Home – 1448 Stafford Road in Darlington.
This circa 1810 stone home, known as Keziahs Diary, is owned by Jeff and Kim Little and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The home was originally owned by William Stump and deeded to his daughter Keziah and her husband, Richard Jackson, in 1831. Mr. Jackson was a prominent businessman and community leader in Darlington. The house eventually came into possession of George Robinson, who owned the old Robinson Mill, just north of Darlington.