Towson RB West selected as Payton Award finalist

Ex-Terps Gonzalez, Zusi selected to Best XI team; MLL's Bayhawks trade Powell for ex-Terp Walters

December 04, 2013|Sports Digest


Towson RB West selected as Payton Award finalist

Towson junior running back Terrance West (Northwestern) has been named one of three finalists for the Walter Payton Award. The winner of the Jerry Rice Award as the top freshman in Football Championship Subdivision in 2011, West is joined by Eastern Washington sophomore quarterback Vernon Adams and Eastern Illinois senior quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo as finalists for the award, which is presented to the top player in the FCS. West, the Colonial Athletic Association Offensive Player of the Year, is the leading rusher in the FCS, averaging 155.4 yards per game. He has run for 1,865 yards on 301 carries, a 6.2 average, and has scored 30 rushing touchdowns. He also leads all divisions of the sport with 31 touchdowns, and he has scored at least one touchdown in all 12 games. The winner of the award will be announced Dec. 16 at The Sports Network's FCS awards banquet in Philadelphia.

More football: Johns Hopkins seniors John Arena, Vincenzo Bonaddio and Joe DiTrolio were named to the Division III Capital One Academic All-America team. All three earned first-team honors.

Men's basketball: Bowie State coach Darrell Brooks was selected as Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Coach of the Week after leading the Bulldogs to a 3-1 record last week. The Bulldogs began the week with an 81-61 home win over Concordia (N.Y.) before dropping a contest at West Chester, 109-97. Bowie State bounced back after the Thanksgiving break, picking up neutral-site victories against Virginia-Lynchburg, 95-82, and Bluefield, 71-66. ... UMBC coach Aki Thomas signed a two-year contract extension through 2015-16. Thomas is in his second year with the Retrievers.

Men's soccer: UMBC's Pete Caringi III (Calvert Hall) and Maryland's Patrick Mullins were chosen as two of the 15 semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy. Caringi becomes the first player in school history to earn the distinction. This season, Caringi earned America East's Striker of the Year Award for the second consecutive year and became the first repeat Striker of the Year in its 12-year history. Caringi led the America East with 13 goals and 29 total points. Mullins, who won the award in 2012, has scored 16 goals and recorded eight assists this season. A two-time All-ACC first-team selection and two-time ACC tournament MVP, Mullins has five game-winning goals this season. The Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer, and it will be presented Jan. 10 in St. Louis.

Women's basketball: Laura Castaldo, Zaenna Echevarria, Carly Harris and Maddie Torresin signed letters of intent to play for UMBC under coach Phil Stern next season.


MLL's Bayhawks trade Powell, acquire ex-Terps star Walters

The Chesapeake Bayhawks acquired standout Joe Walters (Maryland) in a blockbuster trade Tuesday with the Florida Launch, Major League Lacrosse's newest team, in return for three-time MLL champion Casey Powell. The Bayhawks also received the 21st overall selection in the 2014 college draft, while the Launch got the 10th selection in the college draft and the eighth pick in the 2014 supplemental draft. Walters is coming off a career year with 48 points and a league-high 26 assists. After a 21-point performance in his rookie year, Walters has averaged 44 points in his past six seasons. The first overall selection in the 2006 college draft, Walters will be reunited with his former college coach, Dave Cottle. He won back-to-back titles in 2008 and 2009 with the Rochester Rattlers and Toronto Nationals, respectively. In 2008, Walters was named Most Valuable Player of Championship Weekend. Powell, one of the leading scorers in MLL history, is head coach and director of lacrosse at North Broward Preparatory School in Coconut Creek, Fla. "We were sad to trade Casey, but with him being a head coach and having his business in Florida, we felt that it was right," Cottle said. "We were lucky to trade a great player in exchange for another great player in Joe Walters." Last month, MLL announced that the Hamilton Nationals have been renamed the Launch and will play in South Florida next season.

Indoor: The new United States Lacrosse League announced that it signed the first franchise in league history, the Maine Moose Trax. The Moose Trax will play their home games at the 6,733-seat Cumberland County Civic Center in Portland. The inaugural 2014 USLL season will consist of a 12-game regular-season schedule (six home and six away) from September to December. The league will hold a college draft in May, an All-Star break Oct. 30-31 and a Championship Weekend in December. Games will be played with six players to a team (five runners and a goalie); each team will have a 23-man roster. Among other rules are a 30-second shot clock and an eight-second limit to advance the ball past midfield after taking possession in the defensive end.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.