Arundel's Chuck Markiewicz named Ravens' Coach of the Week

November 13, 2013|By Katherine Dunn

Arundel’s Chuck Markiewicz was named the Ravens’ High School Coach of the Week after leading the Wildcats to a 24-17 overtime victory over Meade that secured the fourth and final seed for the Class 4A East regional playoffs.

The No. 10 Wildcats (8-2) won on Larry Barnes’ 10-yard touchdown run after visiting Meade, the defending East regional champion, forced overtime late in the fourth quarter.

“This is the first year we had to win our last game to get into the playoffs,” Markiewicz said in a news release. “A meaningful win at the end of the season really tells you a lot about your kids, and that was a great win for them to pick up before the playoffs begin.”

The Wildcats are in the playoffs for the 11th straight time and the 18thtime in school history. They travel to No. 2 Old Mill, the top seed, in Friday’s 7 p.m. regional semifinal game. The Wildcats, who lost to Old Mill, 24-14, in the second game of the season, have split their regular-season games with the Patriots over the last 10 years but have lost all four playoff meetings. Arundel won its only state title in 1975.

Markiewicz is the final Ravens’ Coach of the Week for the 2013 season. He and the nine previous winners will be invited to the Dec. 8 Ravens-Vikings game at M&T Bank Stadium where one will be named Ravens’ Coach of the Year.

The previous winners: Edmondson’s Corey Johnson, Kent County’s Brendon Ireton, Hammond’s Justin Carey, Douglass’ Elwood Townsend, Glenelg’s Butch Schaffer, Kenwood’s Andrew Goldbeck; Archbishop Curley’s Sean Murphy; North Carroll’s Matt Martello and St. Paul’s Paul Bernstorf.

The Ravens donate $2,000 to the athletic department of each weekly winner who also receives a Coach of the Week hat and a certificate signed by Ravens coach John Harbaugh.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.