2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm field cut to 10

November 06, 2013|By Molly Geary | The Baltimore Sun

The field of college quarterbacks left in the running for the 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award has been narrowed to 10 finalists. The start of the football season featured 30 quarterbacks competing for the award. 

The 10 remaining candidates are Tajh Boyd, Clemson; Derek Carr, Fresno State; Taylor Kelly, Arizona State; Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois; Sean Mannion, Oregon State; AJ McCarron, Alabama; Aaron Murray, Georgia; Keith Price, Washington; Connor Shaw, South Carolina; and Keith Wenning, Ball State.  

Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class.  Candidates are judged upon character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and athletic accomplishments.

The award is named after NFL Hall-of-Fame quarterback Johnny Unitas, and is presented annually by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica Insurance Company.

The presentation of this year's award will take place Dec. 13 at the Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & Grand Historic Venue.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.