Five of Harford's 'Women of Tomorrow' recognized

  • The Harford County Commission for Women recently recognized five Women of Tomorrow. Pictured, from left, are Melynda Velez, chairwoman for the committee for the Women of Tomorrow; Ronnie Davis, chairwoman for the Commission for Women; Haley Dean, nominee; Katherine Hairsine, nominee; Emily Parker Tucker, Harford County Women of Tomorrow 2013; Hannah Richardson, nominee; Emily Clark, nominee; Sharon Lipford, deputy director, Harford County Department of Community Services; Abrielle Willis, keynote speaker.
The Harford County Commission for Women recently recognized…
July 24, 2013

The Harford County Commission for Women recently hosted the Harford County Women of Tomorrow Recognition Ceremony at the Abingdon branch of the Harford County Public Library. The commission recognized five local young women as "Women of Tomorrow" for their commitment to community service and academic excellence. The event, held in the Veronica "Roni" Chenowith Room at the Abingdon library, was attended by the nominees, their families and special guests, an Athena Award winner, their nominators and commission members.

In March, the commission requested a call for nominations and from them selected five nominees for recognition at the ceremony. This year's recipients were: Emily Clark (senior, North Harford High School), Haley Dean (junior, Havre de Grace High School), Katherine Hairsine (senior, North Harford High School), Emily Parker Tucker (senior, North Harford High School) and Hannah Richardson (senior, North Harford High School).

Following a short welcoming reception, Ronnie Davis, chairwoman of the commission, welcomed the group and introduced special guests and elected officials. Congratulations were offered to the nominees by Sharon Lipford, deputy director of the Harford County Department of Community Services. Melynda Velez, commission member and Women of Tomorrow committee chair, read short biographies of each recipient and then presented them with a certificate from the commission.

Emily Parker Tucker was presented as the Harford County Woman of Tomorrow and presented with a citation from the Harford County executive, a certificate from the Harford County Commission for Women and a $100 gift card. Abrielle Willis, volunteer coordinator for Habitat for Humanity-Susquehanna served as the keynote speaker. To read more about the 2013 Women of Tomorrow award recipients, visit

The Harford County Commission for Women was created in 1977. To learn more about the Harford County Commission for Women, an entity within the Department of Community Services, visit or call 410-638-4739.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.