Ex-Navy coach Hardin selected for College Football HOF

Ficke returns to Loyola as assistant under Smith

May 08, 2013|Sports Digest

College football

Ex-Navy coach Hardin selected for HOF

Former Navy football coach Wayne Hardin will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced Tuesday. Hardin is the 24th person affiliated with the Naval Academy to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame and the third head coach, joining Gil Dobie (17-3 at Navy from 1917 to 1919) and George Welsh (55-46-1 at Navy from 1973 to 1981). Hardin will be officially inducted at the National Football Foundation's awards dinner Dec.10 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York and will be enshrined in the summer of 2014 at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. "It's a wonderful feeling to join such great men that are already in the Hall of Fame," Hardin said. "I had the opportunity to play for one of the all-time great coaches in Alonzo Stagg, and being in the same company as him is a great thrill. Being inducted in the Hall of Fame isn't about me. It's about all the players, assistant coaches, support staff and fans at Navy and Temple that contributed to our success. It is a great honor to be selected." Hardin compiled a record of 38-22-2 as Navy coach from 1959 to 1964, including a 5-1 mark against Army. He coached two Heisman Trophy winners in Joe Bellino (1960) and Roger Staubach (1963) and led Navy to two New Year's Day bowl games. The 1960 team compiled a record of 9-2 and was ranked No. 4 in the country under the direction of Hardin and earned victories over Boston College, Washington, SMU, Air Force, Notre Dame, Virginia and Army before losing to Missouri, 21-14, in the Orange Bowl.

Men's college basketball

Ficke returns to Loyola as assistant under Smith

Loyola graduate Dan Ficke has returned to his alma mater as a men's basketball assistant coach, filling out the first staff of new head coach G.G. Smith. Ficke, who played four seasons at Loyola, joins the staff after spending the past three seasons at Wake Forest; last season he was the special assistant to the head coach/director of scouting and recruiting. Before that, he was the program's assistant director of operations from 2010 to 2012.

More colleges

Mullins, Thomas named top athletes at Terp Awards

Maryland men's soccer player Patrick Mullins earned the John W. Guckeyson Male Athlete of the Year Award and Alyssa Thomas of women's basketball was honored as the Suzanne Tyler Female Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row at the second annual Terp Awards. Football standout Stefon Diggs and Taylor Cummings (McDonogh) of women's lacrosse were named the male and female Rookies of the Year, respectively. The women's lacrosse team, which completed an 19-0 regular season, was recognized as the Terrapin Cup Team of the Year. Sasho Cirovski (men's soccer) and Cathy Reese (women's lacrosse) were honored as the male and female team Coaches of the Year.

Rugby: Navy scrumhalf Ricky Neel-Feller was chosen as the Atlantic Coast Rugby League Player of the Year, edging out his teammate and fellow halfback Jack McAuliffe. Neel-Feller led the Midshipmen to an undefeated ACRL conference season and a trip to the semifinals of the inaugural Varsity Cup National Collegiate Rugby Championship. Navy, which finished first in the conference, led all teams in all-conference players with 11 selections. Along with Neel-Feller and McAuliffe, prop Darrien Green, lock Jon Thornton, loose forward Andrew Stelletto Jack McAuliffe and inside center Seamus Seifring were chosen to the first team, while hooker Matt Kelly, Matt Danielsloose forward Spencer Wilson, forward Chris Rixey, outside center Nick Hancock and wing Ron Helms received honorable mention. From Maryland, loose forward Ben Shafer and wing Matt Reilly were selected to the first team, and forward Keegan Downey, flyhalf Matias Cima and back John Davis earned honorable mention.

Men's tennis: UMBC freshman Justin Carter was named to the America East first team in singles and doubles, highlighting a group of five Retrievers to earn all-league honors. Teammate Gaulthier Berret also earned first-team doubles honors, giving the senior all-conference accolades in all four years as a Retriever. Berret, sophomore Daniel Gray and freshmen Alex Drean and Melker Svard all received second-team honors in singles competition. ... Johns Hopkins senior Andy Hersh was honored as the Centennial Conference Player of the Week.

From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.