Notebook: Kelly, Crane among finalists for Yeardley Love Unsung Hero Award

Winters Mill grad Hutson named top player in CAC

May 01, 2013|Sports Digest

Kelly, Crane among finalists for Yeardley Love Unsung Hero Award

North Carolina junior midfielder Frankie Kelly (Calvert Hall) and Loyola freshman defenseman Jason Crane (Chesapeake-Anne Arundel), North Carolina junior defender Zoe Skinner (Towson High) and Notre Dame junior defender Molly Shawhan, who lives in Fulton, are among the 10 finalists for the Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award.

Established in 2011 in honor of the late Virginia player, a Cockeysville native, the award recognizes the selfless acts of initiative and commitment by Division I lacrosse players. Athletes are chosen based on the following criteria: dedication, integrity, humility, hard work, community service, leadership, kindness and sportsmanship.

The winners (one female, one male) will be announced in late May. Formerly given to lacrosse players in the Atlantic Coast Conference, the award was opened to all of Division I this year.

Jon Fogg

Men's honors

Hutson named top player in CAC

York sophomore attackman Tyler Hutson (Winters Mill) became the first player to win Capital Athletic Conference Player of the Year the year after being selected by the coaches as the Rookie of the Year. He joins Salisbury's Jeff Bigas (2002 Rookie, 2005 Player) as the only players to win both awards. Frostburg State freshman attackman Spencer Love (Winters Mill) and coach Tommy Pearce won Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively. Hutson was joined on the All-CAC first team by York junior midfielder Seth Krolus (Loyola); Mary Washington junior attackman Luke Dick (Archbishop Spalding); St. Mary's senior attackman Patrick Mull (Fallston), sophomore midfielder Matt Tarrant and senior defenseman Justin Harty; and Salisbury senior midfielder Eric Kluge, junior defenseman Josh Martin, senior defenseman Brett Baer (Westminster), senior faceoff specialist Tyler Granelli, freshman short stick Preston Dabbs, junior long pole Zeke Smith and junior goalie Alex Taylor (Glenelg). The second team included Frostburg State junior attackman Ryan Serio (Chesapeake-AA); Frostburg State sophomore defenseman Zack Burkhardt (Eastern Tech), sophomore defenseman Paul Newman (Archbishop Spalding) and junior long pole Korey Bosley; St. Mary's junior attackman Ben Love (McDonogh) and senior faceoff specialist Albert Mitchell; Salisbury junior attackman Rhett DePol and junior midfielder Greg Korvin (Arundel); Salisbury junior midfielder Tyler Smith and sophomore defenseman Knute Kraus; Wesley senior faceoff specialist Michael McQuarrie (C. Milton Wright); and York senior defenseman Justin Gordon (Archbishop Curley) and York freshman goalie Caleb Abney (Fallston).

Commonwealth Conference: Stevenson junior attackman Chris Dashiell was named Player of the Year. Mustangs freshman goalie Dimitri Pecunes (Calvert Hall) was selected as Rookie of the Year and Paul Cantabene as Coach of the Year. Dashiell was joined on the first team by senior midfielder Peter Green (Hereford), senior defenseman Parker Bratton (McDonogh), junior defenseman Kyle Holechek (Loyola), sophomore midfielder Billy Burgoyne, sophomore defenseman Callum Robinson, sophomore short-stick specialist Connor Curro (St. Paul's) and freshman faceoff specialist Brent Hiken (Pikesville). The Mustangs' second-team selections included junior long pole Ryan Rubenstein (Boys' Latin), senior midfielder Nick Rossi (Towson), sophomore attackman Pat Candon and sophomore attackman Mark Pannenton. Albright faceoff specialist Darian Meador (Westminster) also made the second team. Stevenson sophomore faceoff specialist Sam Wyatt and Pecunes made honorable mention, as did Lycoming freshman attackman Michael Cooper (Archbishop Spalding).

America East: UMBC freshman midfielder Pat Young was voted Rookie of the Year by the league's six head coaches and was the lone freshman on the All-America East first team. He was joined on the first team by Retrievers junior faceoff specialist Phil Poe. Senior attackman Scott Jones made the second team. UMBC freshman attackman-midfielder Nate Lewnes (St. Mary's) joined Young on the rookie team. Senior defenseman Ethan Murphy and senior midfielder Neill Lewnes (St. Mary's) made the academic team.

Jon Fogg

Ivy League: Harvard senior goalie Harry Krieger (St. Paul's) was named to the All-Ivy second team. Krieger started every game for the Crimson and played all but 22 minutes. The Timonium native ranked second in the conference in saves per game (11.21), third in save percentage (.536) and sixth in goals against average (9.95). Crimon senior defenseman Jason Gonos (St. Mary's), Brown sophomore midfielder Alex Jones (Severn) and Brown senior defenseman Sam Ford (McDonogh) received honorable mention.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.