Notebook: Navy wins All-Patriot men's and women's honors

Siena men rally to beat No. 10 Albany, 10-9

April 23, 2013|The Baltimore Sun

Navy junior long-stick midfielder Pat Kiernan has been named to the All-Patriot League men's lacrosse first team, the conference announced Tuesday.

Kiernan's 26 caused turnovers this spring are the third-most by a player in Navy program history, while he is the school's all-time leader in the category with 51. This is the second straight year Kiernan has garnered All-Patriot League honors; he received second-team recognition as a sophomore.

Named second-team all-league were Bucknell senior faceoff specialist Ryan Gutowski (Calvert Hall), whose .524 percentage on draws ranks third in the Patriot League, and Lehigh senior midfielder Brian Hess (McDonogh), who had seven goals and four assists in six league games. In 2011, Gutowski was chosen to the All-Patriot League football first team as a punter.

Saints knock off No. 10 Albany

Sophomore Conor Prunty had four goals to lead host Siena to a come-from-behind 10-9 win over rival No. 10 Albany.

It was the first loss for the Great Danes (10-4, 4-1) in a month. The Saints (6-8, 3-2) were down 3-0 in the first quarter but scored four straight goals to take the lead. Prunty scored the game's last two goals in the final four minutes to give Siena the win.

More honors: Maryland junior midfielder Mike Chanenchuk and junior goalie Niko Amato were named Atlantic Coast Conference men's lacrosse Offensive and Defensive Players of the Week, respectively. Chanenchuk led all scorers with four points to lead the then-No. 6 Terps over No. 14 Yale, 8-7, on Saturday. Amato made a career-best 24 saves, which are a Division I high this season.

Division III men's poll: After beating Salisbury in the “War on the Shore” on Wednesday, Washington College (11-3) moved up two spots to No. 10 in the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Division III coaches' poll, while the Sea Gulls (13-4) dropped two spots to No. 7. Stevenson (14-2) held at No. 4.

Women's college lacrosse

DePompeo, Timchal, Foky pick up Patriot awards

Navy senior attacker Jasmine DePompeo is the first player in Patriot League history to earn three consecutive Offensive Player of the Year awards, while coach Cindy Timchal was named the Patriot League Coach of the Year for the second year in a row and sophomore goalie Annie Foky is the first Mid to earn Defensive Player of the Year honors.

DePompeo and Foky were joined by sophomore attacker Loren Generi and senior defender Brijet Mall on the all-league first team, and senior attacker Kathy Young was voted to the second team. Additionally, DePompeo, Young and Generi were named to the league's All-Academic team.

Division III results: St. Mary's advanced to the second round of the Capital Athletic Conference tournament with a 17-7 win over Marymount (7-8). Emily Shafer had three goals and four assists to lead the Seahawks (8-9). ... Sophomore Amanda LeGar (Liberty) scored a career-high four goals and sophomore Kathryn Merrick (Bel Air) had a career-high four assists to lead No. 17 Stevenson in an 18-2 victory over host Hood (3-11, 0-7 Commonwealth Conference). The Mustangs (14-1, 7-0) scored 15 unanswered goals to win their 14th straight game.

Division III women's poll: After completing a 16-0 regular season, Salisbury heads into postseason play at No. 2 in Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association Top 20. No. 1 is defending champion Trinity (Conn.).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.