Maryland roster announced for Big 33 Football Classic

March 26, 2013|By Katherine Dunn

Five Gilman players, including Co-Defensive Players of the Year Henry Poggi and Micah Kiser, lead the Maryland team that will take on Pennsylvania's best in the 56th annual Big 33 Football Classic on July 15 at Hersheypark Stadium.

Poggi, a defensive lineman headed for Michigan, and Kiser, a linebacker headed for Virginia, are joined by Greyhounds teammates Shane Cockerille, a Maryland-bound quarterback, Miles Norris, a Cornell-bound linebacker and defensive lineman Nick Fertitta, who is headed for American International College.

In all, 21 players from the Baltimore area were selected for the 34-man Maryland team that will be coached by Gilman’s Biff Poggi as Maryland returns to the Big 33 for the first time in 21 years.

Six players are headed to Maryland: Cockerille, Catonsville running back DeAndre’ Lane, Severna Park defensive lineman Mike Minter, Annapolis Area Christian defensive back Elvis Dennah, Bishop McNamara defensive back Milan Collins and Avalon defensive back Jaquille Veii.

Five are going to Towson: Reservoir linebacker James Simms, Loyola offensive lineman Sam Evans, Franklin linebacker Malik Jackson, Wise offensive lineman Antonio Harris and Northwestern-PG running back Darius Victor. One -- River Hill offensive lineman Justin Nestor -- is headed for Bowie State.

The team also includes a set of brothers, Franklin wide receivers Reggie and Marquis Ellis, who will play at Shepherd.

Other local players selected: Atholton quarterback Luke Casey (Rhode Island), Calvert Hall wide receiver Kyle Levere (undecided), Calvert Hall offensive lineman J.P. McManus (Monmouth), Century offensive lineman Donnie Knox (Shepherd), Westminster wide receiver Bradley Metcalf (undecided), Milford Mill defensive back Mike Jones Jr. (Howard), and Severn kicker Ben Priddy (Georgetown).

To see the entire team, click here.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.