Orioles sign remaining 17 players on 40-man roster to one-year deals

March 08, 2013|By Dan Connolly | The Baltimore Sun

The Orioles have signed the remaining 17 players on their 40-man roster that had zero to three years service time. All received one-year contracts.

They are: Right-handers Jake Arrieta, Zach Clark, Miguel Gonzalez, Steve Johnson, Pedro Strop and Chris Tillman; Lefties Zach Britton, Mike Belfiore and T.J. McFarland; catcher Luis Exposito; outfielders L.J. Hoes and Xavier Avery and infielders Ryan Flaherty, Manny Machado, Yamaico Navarro, Jonathan Schoop and Danny Valencia.

All players on the 40-man roster are now signed for 2013.

The signing is basically procedural, although in the past there have been players that were re-upped who seemed underpaid by baseball’s standards – such as Matt Wieters last year. That doesn’t seem to be the case this season for the Orioles.

The league minimum is $490,000 for 2013.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.