Snow closes schools, colleges in Carroll; road crews hit the streets

  • Snow was starting to accumulate early Wednesday morning in the 6000 block of Sunset Drive in south Carroll County.
Snow was starting to accumulate early Wednesday morning in… (Submittted photo by Bob…)
March 06, 2013|By Jim Joyner,

Several closures have been announced in Carroll County due to inclement weather on Wednesday, March 6.

Carroll County Public Schools and offices, including the Central Office, are closed today, March 6.

Gerstell Academy in Finksburg is closed.

Carroll Community College and its Mount Airy Center are closed today. All classes and activities are canceled. Students should check Blackboard for instructor information.

McDaniel College is closed through 11 p.m. Wednesday. All undergraduate and graduate classes are canceled, and Wednesday evening's performance of the play, "The Sleep of Reason," is also canceled.

In addition, all county government offices were closed, as well as the Northern Landfill, Carroll County District and Circuit Courts and public libraries.

County officials also said a work session scheduled for tonight regarding the Finksburg Corridor Plan has been postponed due to the weather. The meeting has been rescheduled for April 3 at 6 p.m. at the Finksburg Library.

Meanwhile, the Carroll County Department of Public Works reported that road crews will continue working throughout the storm to keep the roadways as clear as possible. If residents experience problems with a county road, contact the Roads Department at 410-386-6717.

In case of power outages, emergency generators are in place and fueled at the county water and sanitary sewer facilities. County officials said maintenance and facilities personnel will be working to clear county owned and maintained sidewalks and parking lots as soon as possible to ensure continued county operations.

This story has been updated.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.