No. 2 Winters Mill wins third straight Class 2A-1A wrestling title

Falcons' Wes Cook captures second consecutive state championship; Urbana wins 4A-3A

March 02, 2013|By Mike Frainie, For The Baltimore Sun

COLLEGE PARK — Winters Mill's Wes Cook knew who he was facing in the 145-pound final during the Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association Class 2A-1A state championship at the University of Maryland's Cole Field House. He also knew he had a debt to pay.

Cook scored all three points of his 3-1 victory over Owings Mills' Demetrius Johnson in the third period to win his second straight state title (the other was at 138 last year). If it wasn't for Johnson, it may have been three.

"He beat me by a point two years ago, so I guess you can call this payback," Cook said. "He had me down, and I just weathered the storm."

Cook scored an escape, and then a takedown with eight seconds left to defeat Johnson in the dramatic match.

Cody Sharkey (152) and Chase Cullison (170) also won for the Falcons, leading No. 2 Winters Mill to 121 points and its third consecutive 2A-1A state team title. No. 8 Owings Mills finished in second place with 87.5 points, edging out No. 4 Glenelg, which was third with 87.

In the 4A-3A tournament, Urbana of Frederick County (97.5 points) held off No. 6 River Hill (89), last year's team champion in the classification, to win the state championship. Mount Hebron, the next highest local team, tied for seventh with 51 points.

The final at 138 pounds in 2A-1A featured one of the best matches of the day.

Pikesville's Trayvon Wright used an escape with 11 seconds left in overtime to defeat Middletown's Matt Capobianco, 6-5. Capobianco finished second last year, and many thought he was the favorite this year.

Glenelg's Sean Twigg won his second straight state title at 285 pounds, defeating Winters Mill's Jake Utz, 1-0. Twigg will wrestle at Maryland next year.

"I was just hoping to get a takedown," Twigg said. "He's a great wrestler, and this win kind of takes the pressure off of me."

Twigg, as he did last year, jumped into the arms of his coach after winning the title.

South Carroll's Steven Schmidt improved upon his second-place finish in the state final last year with a 3-1 victory over Wicomico's Alex Pullen.

"I left disappointed last year, but I set high expectations for myself," Schmidt said. "Winning this title is the completion of a dream for me."

In 4A-3A Individual results, Severna Park's Sam Ziff controlled his match from start to finish to defeat Mount Hebron's Joe Kendrick, 7-2. Bel Air's William Holder-Moore avenged a loss to Wilde Lake's Tola Morakinyo in last weekend's regional championship with an 8-5 victory.

At 132 pounds, Broadneck's Cameron Harrell won his first state title by pinning Reservoir's Mason Kilcarr 54 seconds into the match.

Second-place finishers among local participants in 2A-1A were South Carroll's Sam Willingham (152), North Carroll's Eddie Merrill (170), Fallston's Ridge Myers (195), and Century's Ryder Cavey (220).

In 4A-3A, second-place finishers were Mount Hebron's Jeff Hayden (106), Hereford's Anthony Genco (113), Centennial's Austin Kraisser (138), C. Milton Wright's Ben Swanson (145), and River Hill's Logan Kirby (285).


Class 4A-3A

State Championships

Team scores (top 10):

1. Urbana (97.5)

2. River Hill (89)

3. Northern-Calvert (76)

T4. La Plata (54.5)

T4. Thomas Stone (54.5)

6. Wootton (54)

T7. Mount Hebron (51)

T7. Damascus (51)

9. Huntingtown (50)

10. Bethesda-Chevy Chase (47)

Individual results:

106: Macklin (DAM) d Hayden (MtH), 5-4.

113: Leadbetter (NOC) d Genco (HER), 5-4.

120: Margolis (LAP) d Way (URB), 2-1.

126: Diallo (DUV) d Saluter (TS), 7-1.

132: Harrell (BRD) d Kilcarr (RES), :54.

138: Banaszak (BCC) d Kraisser (CTN), 7-5.

145: Cannon (CHO) d Swanson (CMW), 6-1.

152: Ziff (SvP) d Kendrick (MtH), 7-2.

160: Hoffman (NOC) d Cable (LAP), 1-0.

170: Holder-Moore (BA) d Morakinyo (WL), 7-5.

182: Lineberger (TS) tf over Vimelson, 16-0.

195: Bernardo (TSW) Daniel (RH) d Bernardo (TSW), 3-1 OT

220: Beteta (NWM) d Kirby (RH), 2-1.

285: Green (PH) d Hollland (HNT, 3:49.

Class 2A-1A

State Championships

Team scores (top 10):

1. Winters Mill (121)

2. Owings Mills (87.5)

3. Glenelg (87)

4. Catoctin (85)

5. Oakdale (66)

6. Oakland Mills (62)

7. South Carroll (59)

8. Kent Island (50)

9. Snow Hill (45)

10. Manchester Valley (43.5)

Individual results:

106: Miller (WIL) p Rendleman (OWM), 1:46.

113: Nordan (CTT) d. Knight (SNH), 9-6 .

120: Savage (OAD) d Brown (PEV), 7-3.

126: Turner (CSD) d Smith (KTI), 3-2 .

132: Perella (CTT) Martz (MTR).

138: Wright (PIK) d Capobianco (MID), 6-5, OT.

145: Cook (WM) d Johnson (OWM), 3-1.

152: Sharkey (WM) d Willingham (SC), 15-3.

160: Cimorosi (RIS) d Schmidt (CTT), 8-6.

170: Cullison (WM) p Merrill (NC), 4:29.

182: Schmitz (SC) d Pullen (WIC), 3-1.

195: Olauson (QA) d Myers (FAL), 8-3.

220: Simonica (OAD) d Cavey (CEN), 6-5.

285: Twigg (GLG) d Utz (WM), 1-0.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.