Baltimore County Savings Bank moving to Main Street in Bel Air

January 15, 2013|AEGIS STAFF REPORT

Baltimore County Savings Bank announced this week plans to relocate its Bel Air branch from 563 Baltimore Pike to 203 N. Main St.

The bank's new Main Street branch, which is scheduled to open in April, will be in a vacant building on the corner of Gordon Street, formerly occupied by K Bank of Maryland, which failed in November 2010 and was closed by the Maryland Office of Financial Regulation.

Moving from its current location in the parking area of Bel Air Plaza Shopping Center will give BCSB the ability to serve its business and consumer customers' growing needs with a convenient Main Street location, including a drive-thru and ATM services, the bank said in a media release Tuesday.

The new branch also affords for larger office and lobby space to conduct bank business and meet with branch representatives, the release states.

"The Bel Air branch was the second location for BCSB, then known as Baltimore County Savings and Loan," Joseph Bouffard, president and CEO of BCSB, said in the release. "Moving to Main Street, Bel Air serves as a testament to how we continue to focus on better serving our customer base and the growing needs of the Harford County community. The new branch allows for greater support of the growth the county is experiencing and we're thrilled to be a part of it."

As plans for the relocation progress, BCSB will host a grand opening of the new Bel Air branch, tentatively set for spring 2013.

Since opening its doors in 1955, BCSB operated out of a single location in Perry Hall for 20 years. In 1975, BCSB opened its second location, at 517 Bel Air Plaza, and later relocated to 563 Bel Air Plaza, remaining in the same shopping center for more than 35 years. The bank has 16 branches, including four in Harford County – Abingdon, Bel Air, Forest Hill and Hickory.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.