Ravens confirm that Bernard Pierce did not practice Wednesday

Ravens rookie running back joined by fullback Vonta Leach and left guard Jah Reid as players who sat out Wednesday's session

January 09, 2013|By Edward Lee

The Ravens released their first injury report of the week leading up to Saturday’s AFC Divisional playoff game against the Denver Broncos, and Bernard Pierce did not practice Wednesday. The rookie running back, who is described as dealing with a knee injury, did not appear to participate in Tuesday’s session.

Fullback Vonta Leach also did not practice. He aggravated a sprained right ankle in Sunday’s 24-9 victory over the Indianapolis Colts in the AFC Wildcard playoff round. Leach has sat out the last four Thursdays without missing a start.

Offensive lineman Jah Reid was also absent from practice for the second consecutive day. Reid, who had started the last seven games of the regular season at left guard, had been deactivated before Sunday’s contest because of a toe injury.

Inside linebacker Dannell Ellerbe (sprained right ankle) was limited Wednesday. Twelve players fully participated. They were outside linebackers Terrell Suggs (right Achilles tendon/torn right biceps), Albert McClellan (shoulder) and Adrian Hamilton (illness), safeties Ed Reed (shoulder) and Bernard Pollard (ribs), wide receivers Anquan Boldin (shoulder) and Tandon Doss (ankle), inside linebacker Ray Lewis (right triceps), defensive tackle Haloti Ngata (knee), right guard Marshal Yanda (shoulder), defensive end Pernell McPhee (thigh) and cornerback Jimmy Smith (sports hernia).

Four Broncos starters fully practiced Wednesday. They were left tackle Ryan Clady (shoulder), right tackle Orlando Franklin (knee), right guard Chris Kuper (ankle) and strong safety Mike Adams (knee). Wide receiver/return specialist Trindon Holliday (ankle) also participated fully.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.