Varsity roundup: Spalding girls top Pallotti in basketball

Aberdeen overwhelms North Harford, 77-23

January 04, 2013|From Sun staff reports

Archbishop Spalding flexed its new No. 1 status with tough defense in a Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference game Thursday night, holding No. 7 St.Vincent Pallotti to single-digit scores in the first two quarters en route to a 55-34 victory.

Aleah Epps scored a game-high 12points for the Cavaliers (12-0, 5-0), who led 28-11 at the break. Spalding's defense limited Beverly Ogunride to a team-best nine points for the Panthers (8-5, 2-2).

No. 2 Aberdeen 77, North Harford 23: The holiday season was rough for the Eagles (7-2), who not only lost their first game, but also had back-to-back losses.

Aberdeen bounced back with a two-game winning streak by beating the visiting Hawks.

The Eagles rallied behind a 19-point performance by Endia Jones. Brionna Jones had 17 points and 10 rebounds, and sister Stephanie Jones added 14 points.

Aberdeen lost to Hoover (Ala.), 49-41, at the Title IX Tournament at Trinity University (D.C.) on Dec. 27 and fell to Riverdale Baptist, 56-41, on Dec. 28 before beating Woodson, 46-38, on Dec. 29.

Boys basketball

Douglass 70, Reginald F. Lewis 45: Dontrell Kelly scored a game-high 28 points and the host Ducks (7-3) used half-court traps and inside play in the second half to pull away from the Falcons.

Douglass had a three-point halftime lead.


No. 3 River Hill 40, Oakland Mills 23: After trading wins in the opening matches, the host Hawks (15-1) settled down and won six of the next eight, including five by pin.

River Hill wins by pin included Michael Beck (106), Taariq Mohammed (113), Patrick Linden (126), Lee Carter (132) and Logan Kirby (220).

No. 9 Owings Mills 66, Eastern Tech 9: Coach Guy Pritzker got his 490th win and the Eagles improved to 11-3.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.