Digest: Mount St. Joseph downs Sidwell, 59-55, to win Gonzaga Classic

Coppin, JHU track and field records fall at Princeton; men's lacrosse recruit Dunn decommits from Maryland

December 10, 2012|Sports Digest

Varsity boys basketball

Mount St. Joseph downs Sidwell, 59-55, to win Gonzaga Classic

In a defensive struggle, No. 1 Mount St. Joseph defeated Sidwell Friends, 59-55, on Sunday in the championship game of the Gonzaga D.C. Classic at Smith Center. The first half saw a remarkable swing of momentum, with the Gaels outscoring Sidwell 22-7 in the first quarter before Sidwell (8-1) outdid Mount St. Joseph 22-3 in the second quarter. The high scorer was Josh Hart of Sidwell with 37 points, breaking the tournament record with a total of 100 points. He eclipsed the mark set in 1996 by former Maryland great Juan Dixon (Calvert Hall). Phil Booth scored 15 for the Gaels. Hart was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament, and Booth and the Gaels' Kameron Williams joined him on the All-Tournament team.


Coppin, JHU track and field records fall at Princeton

Melissa Caddle broke a Coppin State school record that had stood for 13 years in the 60-meter dash Sunday and also ran the anchor leg on the Eagles' victorious 4x400-meter relay team at the Princeton New Year's Invitational. Caddle posted a time of 7.53 seconds to win the the 60 meters and top the record previously held by Lisa Taylor, who ran a 7.69 on Feb. 7, 1999. The 4x400 team of Sandra Bonga, Tanaya Yarde, Alexis Easterling and Caddle finished first in 3:49.96. Eastlering also had a strong day for Coppin State as she won the long jump with a distance of 19 feet, 61/4 inches, which is a personal record for the senior and ranks second all-time in Coppin State indoor history. Also at the meet, Johns Hopkins freshmen Imoni McCorvey and Hannah Oneda (Winters Mill) and junior Emily Sweson each broke individual school records. In her college debut, McCorvey smashed the Blue Jays' triple-jump record with a leap of 37-11/4 to earn second place overall. She is the first woman in Hopkins history to jump 37 feet, besting the school mark of 36-101/4 set by Ilolochika Emuh in 2006. It is the third-longest jump among Division III athletes this season. Swenson also broke a field record, tossing the shot 41-21/4. Oneda raced to a school-record 16:48.24 for first place in the 5,000 meters. That broke Hannah Eckstein's record of 16:50.64 set last season and is the second-fastest Division III time this season.

Men's lacrosse: One of the best senior defenders in the country, Alec Dunn of Westminster School in Simsbury, Conn., decommitted from Maryland and committed to the admissions process at Dartmouth, according to LaxLessons.com. Inside Lacrosse reported Dunn's oral commitment in August 2011. Dunn has played for the Bulldog elite club at the Brine Shootout, Tri-State tourney and King of the Hill, where he was selected to play in the all-star game. Dunn also has attended Maverick Showtime and the National Lacrosse Classic, where he again played in the all-star game.

Wrestling: No. 17 Maryland (5-2) got two pins and two major decisions to edge host American, 23-21, on Sunday for the seventh straight season. The Terps were led by Christian Boley (197) and TJ Guidice (157), who each picked up a fall, and Geoffrey Alexander (133) and Jimmy Sheptock (184), who earned major decisions.

Women's volleyball: The American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Mid-Atlantic team included Salisbury senior setter Carley Todd, Salisbury senior middle blocker Chelsea Glowacki, Salisbury freshman outside hitter Ashlyn Tapley, Stevenson junior setter Jessica Gieselman, Stevenson sophomore libero Samantha Perillo, and Johns Hopkins freshman opposite hitter Jasmine Warmington. Warmington was the region's Freshman of the Year. Stevenson sophomore middle blocker Megan Miller was named honorable mention. The Sea Gulls' Margie Knight was honored as the region's Coach of the Year.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.