Digest: San Jose St. to play in Military Bowl at RFK

December 01, 2012|Sports Digest

College football

San Jose St. to play in Military Bowl at RFK

San Jose State, fresh off its first 10-win season since 1987, has agreed to play in the Military Bowl on Dec. 27 at RFK Stadium, bowl organizers announced Friday. The Spartans, who received the 26th-most votes in the most recent Associated Press poll, will play a team to be determined after this weekend's games are completed. It will be San Jose State's second trip to the Washington area this season. On Sept. 29, the Spartans defeated Navy, 12-0, in Annapolis. This year, the Military Bowl was slated to have the No. 8 pick of Atlantic Coast Conference teams and also had an agreement to be Army's bowl destination, but neither the Black Knights nor an ACC team will be playing at RFK Stadium. The ACC has six bowl-eligible teams at the moment and Army is just 2-9 heading into its annual meeting with Navy next Saturday, so Military Bowl executive director Steve Beck was forced to look elsewhere.

Mark Giannotto, The Washington Post

College lacrosse

Former HCC men's coach Lawson hired by Wingate

Division II Wingate announced that Mike Lawson will be introduced Monday as its new men's lacrosse coach. Among his prior coaching stops was a stint as head coach at Howard Community College, where he was named National Junior College Athletic Association Region XX Coach of the Year. More recently, Lawson worked at Mount Olive and St. Andrews.

More men: Lafayette announced the addition of freshman Ben Falcone (McDonogh) to the roster. Falcone recorded a .640 save percentage his senior year, going 15-4, and earned two varsity letters in lacrosse, football and squash.

Women: Colleen McCaffrey, who graduated from Johns Hopkins in May, was named an assistant coach at American. ... Winthrop announced that seniors Danielle Baker (Glenelg), Lauren Bundick (Dulaney), Sydney Cope (Notre Dame Prep), Alexandra Krochta (Notre Dame Prep) and Erika Kopf (Annapolis) have signed national letters of intent. Winthrop will begin its first season of NCAA Division I competition in 2013. … Seniors Abbey Meehan (Broadneck), Mary Vaughters (St. Mary's), Alex Watson (South River) and Courtney Woolford (Northeast) signed national letters of intent to play at LaSalle.

Inside Lacrosse contributed to this report.

More colleges

Hopkins' Davis sets D-III 200 backstroke record

Johns Hopkins sophomore Dylan Davis (Annapolis) broke the NCAA Division III record in the 200 backstroke at the Gettysburg (Pa.) Final Fall Fast Festival. He finished in 1 minute, 46.01 seconds to better the mark of 1:46.30 set by Quinn Bartlett of Denison (2011). The time is also an NCAA automatic qualifying time.

Field hockey: The contract of Towson coach Michelle Webber has not been renewed, director of athletics Mike Waddell said. Webber, a Goucher graduate, was 44-70 in six seasons as head coach and was with the program for 10 years.

Women's basketball: Navy and Salisbury won in the opening rounds of their respective tournaments. Jade Geif and Alix Membreno scored 19 and 18 points to lead the host Mids (5-3) to a 57-48 victory over East Carolina (5-2) at the Navy Classic. Navy will host High Point, an 81-74 winner over Monmouth, in today's championship at 6 p.m. Salisbury (2-3) won, 92-70, against  host Valley Forge Christian (4-3) in the Optimist Classic. Anna Hackett had 26 points for the Sea Gulls, who face Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts in today's championship at 3 p.m.

Conferences: The College of Charleston accepted an invitation to join the CAA beginning July 1.

Women's soccer: Penn State senior midfielder Christine Nairn (Archbishop Spalding) was named a National Soccer Coaches Association of America first-team All-American.

Indoor track and field: The Navy men were voted co-favorites with Bucknell in the Patriot League preseason poll. The women were voted first with Bucknell second.

From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.