Five finalists selected for 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

November 14, 2012

The five finalists for the 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award have been selected from the initial field of 29 top college quarterbacks.

This year's final five are Matt Barkley of USC, Collin Klein of Kansas State, EJ Manuel of Florida State, AJ McCarron of Alabama, and Geno Smith of West Virginia.

Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class.  Candidates are judged upon character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and athletic accomplishments.

Past winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award include Peyton Manning (Tennesssee, 1997), Carson Palmer (USC, 2002), Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003), Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2012).

The 2012 award will be presented Friday, December 7 at The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Hotel in downtown Baltimore.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.