Digest: Terps top UNC, 2-1, for ACC men's soccer title

Frazer lifts No. 6 Maryland past UConn and into NCAA field hockey semis

November 12, 2012|Sports Digest

College soccer

Terps men top UNC, 2-1, for ACC title

Top-seeded Maryland picked up goals from freshmen Dakota Edwards and Schillo Tshuma to defeat No. 2 seed North Carolina, 2-1, for its third Atlantic Coast Conference title in five seasons in front of an announced 9,341 Sunday afternoon at the Maryland SoccerPlex in Boyds. The Terps (17-1-2), ranked No. 2 in the nation, won their fifth overall conference tournament crown (1996, 2002, 2008, 2010 and 2012). In the 11th minute, Edwards grabbed a corner kick from Dan Metzger and muscled his way to a goal to the lower left from 2 yards. It was the first goal North Carolina (15-3-2), ranked third nationally, had surrendered since Tshuma tallied the game-winner in overtime Oct. 19 in College Park. Tshuma put the Terps on top 2-0 in the 62nd minute with an angled strike from the near sideline off a throw-in from Mikey Ambrose. It was the rookie's eighth goal in 2012. Forward Rob Lovejoy scored for the Tar Heels with 4:32 remaining. "I'll cherish this one forever, and I think our alumni and fans will as well," Maryland coach Sasho Cirovski said. "Today we played a great game, our best game of the year. I thought today we were very sharp in all phases of the game and deserved the victory against one of the great teams in college soccer and certainly the best defensive team we've seen in the nation." ACC Offensive Player of the Year Patrick Mullins was tabbed the ACC tournament Most Valuable Player and was joined on the all-tournament team by John Stertzer, London Woodberry, Tshuma and Edwards. Maryland will find out its NCAA tournament seeding at 5:30 p.m. today when the bracket is announced on NCAA.com.

Men's honors: Frostburg State senior forward Ryan Russell was named Capital Athletic Conference Player of the Year for the second straight season. Others on the All-CAC first team included Wesley senior forward Joshua Chelleh (Long Reach), Salisbury sophomore forward Matt Green, Frostburg State senior midfielder Shawn Baker, Salisbury senior midfielder Pat Callahan, York junior defender Aaron Beale (Archbishop Curley), Salisbury junior defender Chase Humphrey and Frostburg State junior defender Chris Jones. The second team included St. Mary's senior forward Frank VanGessel, Salisbury senior midfielder Jimmy Mundy (Centennial), St. Mary's senior midfielder Ryan Plaisanceand Salisbury junior defender Larry Cornish. ... Johns Hopkins sophomore midfielder Rob Heuler was named to the All-Centennial Conference first team. The second team included Hopkins sophomore goalkeeper Nick Cerrone, McDaniel sophomore forward Shane McCracken (Liberty) and Washington College senior defender Justin Geho (Cardinal Gibbons). Hopkins freshman defender Andrew Park made honorable mention.

Women's: Johns Hopkins (17-4-1) used three set-piece goals for a 4-2 win over visiting Rowan (13-4-1) in the second round of the NCAA tournament. The win propelled the Blue Jays to their fifth consecutive Sweet 16, where they will take on Lynchburg. Game information will be announced later. ... Frostburg State junior forward Adria Graham was named Capital Athletic Conference Player of the Year for the second straight year. In addition to Graham, the All-CAC first team included Frostburg sophomore forward Stephanie Fazenbaker, Salisbury senior forward Sarah Pfundstein (South River), Salisburgy senior midfielder Casey Hafford (Loch Raven), St. Mary's junior midfielder Yvonne Latour, Frostburg junior midfielder Courtney Mack, Salisbury senior midfielder Erin Mooney, Frostburg senior defender Erin Proctor, Salisbury senior defender Bonnie Sandone and Salisbury sophomore goalkeeper Michelle Conrad. The second team included St. Mary's senior forward Tori Eskay, St. Mary's sophomore forward Liz Mosher, Frostburg freshman midfielder Brooke Longo (Catholic), Salisbury freshman defender Tabitha Brown, Frostburg senior defender Liz Seligman. The Bobcats' Brian Parker was named Coach of the Year.

More colleges

Frazer lifts No. 6 UM into NCAA field hockey semis

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.