2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award field narrowed to 10

November 05, 2012

The field of college quarterbacks in the running for the 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award has been narrowed to 10.  There were 29 quarterbacks competing for the award at the start of the football season.

The 10 remaining candidates are Matt Barkley, USC; Landry Jones, Oklahoma; Collin Klein, Kansas State; EJ Manuel, Florida State; AJ McCarren, Alabama; Aaron Murray, Georgia; Denard Robinson, Michigan; Geno Smith, West Virginia; Tyler Tettleton, Ohio; and Tyler Wilson, Arkansas.

Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class.  Candidates are judged upon character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and athletic accomplishments.

The award is named after NFL Hall-of-Fame quarterback Johnny Unitas, and is presented annually by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica Insurance Company.

The presentation of this year's award will take place December 7 at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Hotel in Baltimore.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.