Adams, Amonte Hiller, Timchal, Dougherty inducted into Lacrosse Hall of Fame

Former Terps players, coach joined by former Syracuse greats Colsey and Nelson, as well as former Princeton star Hubbard and longtime Middlebury women's coach Foote

  • Front row (left to right): Kelly Amonte Hiller, Jen Adams, Cindy Timchal, Missy Foote Back row (left to right): Tim Nelson, Roy Colsey, Brian Dougherty, Jesse Hubbard
Front row (left to right): Kelly Amonte Hiller, Jen Adams, Cindy… (US Lacrosse photo )
October 21, 2012|Baltimore Sun staff

Former Terps players Jen Adams, Brian Dougherty and Kelly Amonte Hiller, as well as eight-time national champion coach Cindy Timchal, were inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame on Saturday night at the Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley.

The quartet, who were accompanied as 2012 inductees by four-time Syracuse All-American midfielder Roy Colsey, three-time Orangemen All-American attackman Tim Nelson, three-time Princeton All-American attackman Jesse Hubbard and Middlebury's Missy Foote, a five-time IWLCA National Coach of the Year, joined  more than 350 lacrosse greats enshrined in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame at US Lacrosse headquarters in Baltimore.

Here are some snippets from the remarks by the former Terps:

Adams, now head coach at Loyola (introduced by Maryland coach Cathy Reese): "Obviously, I know a lot of the names that have come through before me, and there's so much respect for those people as mentors of the game.Those people, in my eyes, are the lacrosse gurus. For me to be alongside them now is very, very humbling. Lacrosse, for me, has been and continues to be just the right fit."

Dougherty, now in his third season as coach at Division II Chestnut Hill (introduced by his father, Dan Dougherty): "Reflecting back on all the great things that lacrosse has given me and on all the people who gave me my opportunity ... it means a lot. And it means other people recognized me for the things I did. That's a humbling and awesome honor. It's been an incredible journey."

Amonte Hiller, now in her 12th year as coach at Northwestern (introduced by Timchal): "This is really a culmination of all the great players that I've had the opportunity to play with and all the coaches I've had an opportunity to work with. I came to the sport late in life (high school), but this sport is the greatest thing that happened to me."

Timchal, in her seventh season at Navy (introduced by Missy Meharg, head coach for field hockey at Maryland): "On a personal level, this is an opportunity to be grateful to the game. It's because of women's lacrosse that I've had the opportunity to reach out to young players, to coach at all different levels, and to coach at programs that had winning traditions and ones that were starting traditions. This class is outrageous.  I'm so honored to be a part of this class and to be inducted with some of my players."

Here are bios for each Terps inductee:

Jen Adams
Adams, who is in her fourth year as coach at Loyola, played at Maryland from 1998 to 2001, earning first-team All-America honors three times and winning the Tewaaraton Award as a senior. Adams was named the National Player of the Year and the IWLCA National Attacker of the Year three times, winning each award in 1999, 2000 and 2001. She concluded her career as Maryland's all-time leader in goals, assists, and points, and helped lead the Terrapins to four straight NCAA national championships from 1998 to 2001. A native of Australia, Adams also played for the Australian national team in 2001, 2005 and 2009 and earned All-World honors twice.

Brian Dougherty
Dougherty was a two-time first-team All-American at Maryland (1993-1996), earning the award in his junior and senior seasons. He was a two-time recipient of the USILA's Ensign C. Markland Kelly Jr. Award as the nation's top goalkeeper (1995, 1996) and was named the Lt. Raymond Enners Award winner as the nation's Most Outstanding Player in 1995. In addition, he was MVP of the 1995 NCAA Championship after leading Maryland to a second-place finish. Dougherty played nine professional seasons in Major League Lacrosse and was an MLL All-Star six times and the Goalie of the Year three times. He also won two world championships as a member of the U.S. men's national team in 1998 and 2010. 


Kelly Amonte Hiller
Amonte Hiller was a four-time All-American, earning first-team honors in 1994, 1995 and 1996 after receiving second-team honors as a freshman in 1993. She helped to lead the Terps to the NCAA national championship in 1995 and 1996, and was named the National Defensive Player of the Year in 1995 and the National Offensive Player of the Year in 1996. She was chosen as the Atlantic Coast Conference's Female Athlete of the Year in 1996. Amonte Hiller is a three-time member of the U.S. women's national team (1997, 2001, 2005), and was selected to the All-World Team in 2005. She is in her 11th season as head women's coach at Northwestern.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.