Watch list for 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award cut to 15

October 11, 2012|By Sarah Siguenza | The Baltimore Sun

The list of candidates for the 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award has been cut from 29 collegiate quarterbacks to 15.

Beginning in 1987, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award recognizes senior or fourth-year quarterbacks who excel in athletics, academia and character.

The remaining 2012 candidates include Matt Barkley (Southern California), Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Nick Florence (Baylor), Mike Glennon (NC State), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Collin Klein (Kansas State), EJ Manuel (Florida State), AJ McCarron (Alabama), Aaron Murray (Georgia), Bryn Renner (North Carolina), Denard Robinson (Michigan), Geno Smith (West Virginia), Tyler Tettleton (Ohio), Logan Thomas (Virginia Tech) and Tyler Wilson (Arkansas).

Past recipients include Rodney Peete in 1988, Peyton Manning in 1997, Eli Manning in 2003, Brady Quinn in 2006 and Andrew Luck in 2011. The 2012 Golden Arm Award will be presented to the winner on Dec. 7 at The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Hotel.

Proceeds from the award benefit the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, an organization that provides financial assistance to young scholar-athletes.


Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.