Football roundup: Hereford crushes No. 9 Catonsville after Lane's injury

Maryland-bound running back leaves in first half with hamstring injury

September 28, 2012|By Craig Clary | Baltimore Sun Media Group

Hereford senior quarterback Ryan Jones rushed for three touchdowns, and senior running backs Ted Neubauer and John Bauer each added a pair of touchdown runs to lead the host Bulls (4-1) to a 56-12 victory over No. 9 Catonsville. Hereford outgained Catonsville, 161 yards to 59, in the first half when the Comets lost Maryland-bound running back DeAndre' Lane to a hamstring injury.

No. 4 Arundel 53, North County 20: Jack Gordon completed 16 of 19 passes for 293 yards and six touchdown passes to power the visiting Wildcats (5-0) past the Knights. Arundel led 47-6 at the half. North County's first score came on a 13-yard interception return by Desmond Bright in the second quarter.

No. 8 Dunbar 36, Digital Harbor 0: The Poets (4-1) defense recorded their fourth straight shutout and special teams scored two touchdowns. Tychar Johnson caught a deflected punt and raced 40 yards for a 15-0 lead in the second quarter. In the third quarter, Jerrell Jenkins returned a kickoff 75-yards for a touchdown. The Rams fell to 1-4.

No. 15 South River 34, Annapolis 13: The host Seahawks (3-2) scored four rushing touchdowns and Matthew Gaskins returned an interception 47 yards for a touchdown in the second quarter as South River downed the Panthers in Anne Arundel football action Friday. The Seahawks led 14-7 at the half.

Reginald F. Lewis 22, Lake Clifton 8: Donnie Neal ran for 107 yards on 18 carries to run his consecutive 100-yard game rushing streak to 14, dating back to last year, as the visiting Falcons (4-1) beat the Lakers in Baltimore City Division II action. Tayvon Queen was 4-8 passing for 105 yards and two touchdowns.

Sun Staff contributed to this article.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.