Ray Lewis to headline 2012 class for Maryland chapter of National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Linebacker, a state champion at Kathleen High in Florida, will be honored with Outstanding American award

September 27, 2012|The Baltimore Sun

Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis, a state champion wrestler in the 189-pound weight class at Kathleen High in Lakeland, Fla., will headline the 2012 class of inductees for the Maryland chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Lewis is one of two men being honored with the Hall of Fame's Outstanding American award at the Oct. 28 ceremony at 2 p.m. at the Loews Annapolis Hotel.

Joe Galli, a former wrestler and successful businessman, is the other recipient of that honor. He was an ACC champion, team captain and four-year starter at North Carolina, and his son, Peter, recently won two championships for St. Paul's.

The Outstanding American award is given to wrestlers who achieve exemplary accomplishments outside of the sport.

The Maryland chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame will also honor Sgt. Travis Manning with the Medal of Courage.

Manning, a Purple Heart recipient who wrestled and played football and baseball for Kent County High, was critically injured while serving in Iraq in 2004.

Four honorees will also be inducted to the Lifetime Service to Wrestling category, for which they have spent at least 20 years in service of the sport:

• Claude Darr, who coached Franklin from 1966 to 1984. He was also Franklin's football coach for 25 years.

• Gary Siler, longtime coach at Harford Tech, who has more than 350 career wins and a state title (2006).

• John Lowe, former coach at Western Maryland College and the current coach at Winters Mill, which has won three state titles.

• Rob Smoot, longtime coach and MSA champion at McDonogh and team captain at Duke.

For tickets, please contact Dan Zottarelli at 410-708-0240 or email dan@famminc.com.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.