Maryland's Katie Schwarzmann, Colgate's Peter Baum win Tewaaraton Awards

Despite falling short of titles, high-scoring players named the nation's best in college lacrosse

  • Maryland junior midfielder Katie Schwarzmann and Colgate junior attackman Peter Baum have won the 2012 Tewaaraton Awards as the nation's top college lacrosse players
Maryland junior midfielder Katie Schwarzmann and Colgate…
May 31, 2012|By Katherine Dunn and Edward Lee | The Baltimore Sun

Katie Schwarzmann became the third Maryland woman to win the Tewaaraton Award when she and Colgate’s Peter Baum were named the best players in college lacrosse Thursday night at the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

A junior midfielder from Sykesville, Schwarzmann follows Terps Jen Adams, who won the first Tewaaraton in 2001, and Caitlyn McFadden, who took the trophy in 2010 after the Terrapins won their last national championship.

A complete all-around player best known for her speed and scoring ability, Schwarzmann dominated the Atlantic Coast Conference this season as the No. 4 Terps won their fourth straight ACC title. A three-time All-ACC pick, she earned ACC Offensive Player of the Year and was the Most Valuable Player of the ACC championships after scoring a record 11 goals in the tournament.

Schwarzmann, a former All-Metro Player of the Year at Century, is a two-time Tewaaraton finalist and a three-time All-American. She was first-team All-America as a sophomore and junior and third-team as a freshman.

She was also named to the NCAA championship all-tournament team for the third straight time after scoring three goals in the 9-7 national semifinal loss to No. 1 and eventual champ Northwestern last Friday night.

A member of the U.S. women’s national team, she led Maryland this spring with 72 goals, which ranks fifth on the school’s single-season list. She was also second in points with 94. Her 160 career goals rank sixth on the Terps’ all-time list.

Schwarzmann edged four other finalists for the sport’s most prestigious award: Florida junior midfielder Brittany Dashiell, a John Carroll graduate; Northwestern junior midfielder Taylor Thornton; North Carolina senior attacker Becky Lynch; and Syracuse attacker Michelle Tumolo.

Baum, a junior attackman, joins Hofstra midfielder Doug Shanahan (the inaugural winner in 2001) as the only men’s recipients to have not played in the national title game.(Colgate lost to Duke in the national quarterfinals.)

But Baum — the Lt. Raymond Enners Award winner as the Outstanding Player of the Year in Division I — led the nation in both goals (67) and points (97).

The Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year is also the first Tewaaraton finalist to hail from the West Coast (Portland, Ore.) and the first finalist from Colgate.

Baum beat Virginia senior attackman and 2011 Tewaaraton Award winner Steele Stanwick (Loyola Blakefield), Loyola junior attackman Mike Sawyer, Duke senior long-stick midfielder CJ Costabile and Massachusetts junior attackman Will Manny for the award.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.