Dan Deacon drops first song from new album, 'America,' due in August

Listen to 'Lots,' the Cormac McCarthy-inspired track, here

  • Dan Deacon's third album, "America," will hit stores Aug. 28.
Dan Deacon's third album, "America," will… (Handout )
May 31, 2012|By Wesley Case, The Baltimore Sun

Late last night, Baltimore noise-maestro Dan Deacon took to Twitter to point fans to "Lots," the first song from his forthcoming album, "America," due Aug. 28 on Domino.

Deacon, the most recognizable face of Baltimore's Wham City art collective, has been busy since the release of his critically acclaimed second album, 2009's "Bromst." He scored his first film, Francis Ford Coppola's "Twixt," and performed at Carnegie Hall, experiences, the press release explains, that informed "America."

"Lots" is the "most raw cut" from "America," according to the release. That makes "America" more intriguing since this first offering is relatively restrained for the hyper-kinetic artist. The lyrics, if you can decipher them, are influenced by Cormac McCarthy's "The Road," a book Deacon was talking about back when I profiled him in 2009.

The tracklisting for "America":

1. Guilford Avenue Bridge
2. True Thrush
3. Lots
4. Prettyboy
5. Crash Jam
6. USA I: Is a Monster
7. USA II: The Great American Desert
8. USA III: Rail9. USA IV: Manifest

Listen to "Lots" below:

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.