Digest: 8 Loyola, Maryland players on men's lacrosse All-Tournament team

May 30, 2012|Sports Digest

Et cetera

8 Loyola, UM players on men's lacrosse All-Tournament team

Loyola and Maryland dominated the All-Tournament team for the NCAA men's lacrosse tournament, with eight of the 10 players named to the team coming from the two schools. From the national champion Greyhounds, graduate student attackman Eric Lusby (Severna Park), junior midfielder Josh Hawkins, sophomore defenseman Joe Fletcher, sophomore goalkeeper Jack Runkel and junior long-stick midfielder Scott Ratliff were selected. Senior attackman Joe Cummings (Loyola High), senior midfielder Drew Snider and junior long-stick midfielder Jesse Bernhardt were chosen from the Terps.

More men's college lacrosse: Bernhardt, Cummings and Lusby were named to the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association scholar All-America team, along with Maryland junior midfielder John Haus; senior attackman Rory Averett and senior midfielders Matt Lynch and Andrew McCrumb (Mount St. Joseph) of Goucher; senior goalie Ian Bolland and senior midfielder Justin Lea (Mount St. Joseph) of Stevenson; Princeton senior goalie Tyler Fiorito (McDonogh), Salisbury senior defenseman Andrew Sellers (Archbishop Curley) and St. Mary's senior long-stick midfielder Peter Windsor (St. Paul's).

Women's college lacrosse: Florida junior defender Sam Farrell (Severna Park), Maryland junior defender Iliana Sanza (St. Paul's) and Terps junior midfielder Katie Schwarzmann (Century) were named to the NCAA All-Tournament team. ... Penn State senior goalie Dana Cahill (Mercy) was chosen to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association second team, and Notre Dame sophomore midfielder Margaret Smith (McDonogh) was named to the third team. ... Gettysburgh junior defender Lindsay Menton (Glenelg Country) was selected to the Centennial Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll.

Ravens: Former Pro Bowl kicker Matt Stover will speak at the Baltimore Community Foundation Scholarship Luncheon at M&T Bank Stadium on Thursday, when the foundation will announce the winners of this year's scholarship awards. The scholarships total $200,000.

Amateur golf: Backed by a bundle of winning individual and team performances, Marty West of Columbia Country Club and Bobby Morris of Congressional CC combined for the Maryland State Golf Association Senior fourball championship with an 8-under-par 64 at Lake Presidential Golf Club in Upper Marlboro. The win was their second in the event and one stroke off the tournament record. George Mavrikes and Skip Tendall of Congressional were second, three shots back at 67 in the 65-team field.

D.C. United Women: United (2-0) scored three second-half goals and played stellar defense in a 3-0 win over the Northern Virginia Majestics (0-2) on Sunday night in a lightning-delayed match at Maryland SoccerPlex in Boyds.

From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.