Loyola's Mike Sawyer snubbed in All-American voting?

Junior attackman and Tewaaraton Award finalist named to second team

May 24, 2012|By Edward Lee

Mike Sawyer would take the high road and never lower himself to criticize an individual achievement, but I think the Loyola junior attackman was snubbed in the voting for the Division I All-American first team.

Colgate junior Peter Baum and Virginia senior Steele Stanwick were locks for the first team. It’s the third spot occupied by Massachusetts junior Will Manny that is disputable.

Statistically, Manny is the better all-around player, ranking third in the nation in points per game (4.8) behind Baum (5.7) and Stanwick (4.9). And he is the reigning Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Year, while Sawyer was inexplicably bypassed by the Eastern College Athletic Conference coaches in favor of Ohio State junior attackman Logan Schuss as the league’s Offensive Player of the Year.

Like Manny, Sawyer is one of five finalists for the Tewaaraton Award, which is presented annually to the top collegiate player, but only Sawyer and Duke senior long-stick midfielder C.J. Costabile will be playing in the NCAA tournament semifinals this Saturday at Gilllette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass.

Sawyer ranks third in the country in goals per game (3.0), trailing only Baum (3.9) and Harvard senior attackman Jeff Cohen (3.4). And Sawyer has scored six goals in two tournament games, while Manny managed just one goal and one assist in a first-round loss to Colgate.

Joining Stanwick, a Baltimore native and Loyola graduate, on the first team were Johns Hopkins junior defenseman Tucker Durkin and North Carolina sophomore faceoff specialist R.G. Keenan (Perry Hall/Boys’ Latin).

Joining Sawyer on the second team were Johns Hopkins junior midfielder John Ranagan and sophomore midfielder Rob Guida, and Maryland junior long-stick midfielder Jesse Bernhardt.

Junior long-stick midfielder Scott Ratliff represented Loyola on the third team.

And the honorable mention group was populated by senior attackman Eric Lusby, junior midfielder Davis Butts, junior short-stick defensive midfielder Josh Hawkins, junior defenseman Reid Acton and sophomore defenseman Joe Fletcher of Loyola; senior attackman Joe Cummings, junior midfielder John Haus, freshman defenseman Goran Murray and redshirt sophomore goalkeeper Niko Amato of Maryland; and junior goalkeeper Pierce Bassett of Johns Hopkins.

Sophomore midfielder Jim Marlatt, a Clarksville native and River Hill graduate, represented Notre Dame as an honorable mention.

Here is the rest of the list.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.