Digest: UMBC's Hussein qualifies for Olympics in 200 IM

Hamstring to keep United's Cruz out about 4 weeks

May 23, 2012|Sports Digest


UMBC's Hussein qualifies for Olympics

UMBC junior Mohamed Hussein took first place, broke the Egyptian national record and qualified for the 2012 Summer Olympics in London in the 200-meter individual medley Sunday afternoon at the Auburn Classic at the Martin Aquatics Center. Hussein, who has already qualified for the Summer Games in the 100 freestyle, becomes the first Egyptian swimmer to ever make the cut for two events at a single Olympic Games. He is the second UMBC swimmer to make the Olympics, joining Mehdi Addadi, who qualified for the 2000 Summer Games in Sydney for his native Algeria.

Et cetera

Hamstring to keep United's Cruz out about 4 weeks

D.C. United midfielder Danny Cruz will miss about four weeks after injuring his right hamstring in the first half of a 3-1 victory over Toronto FC on Saturday night at RFK Stadium, club officials said Tuesday. The setback is softened by the fact that United is approaching a three-week break in the MLS regular season. So Cruz will probably miss just three league matches: Saturday against the New England Revolution, June 16 at the Philadelphia Union and June 24 at the New York Red Bulls.

Steven Goff, The Washington Post

More D.C. United: The President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition has selected United for D.C., the charitable arm of United, to receive a PCFSN Community Leadership Award. The award is given annually to individuals and organizations that improve the lives of others in their community by providing opportunities to engage in sports, physical activities, fitness or nutrition-related programs. The foundation will be officially presented with the award at halftime of United's game Saturday at 7:30 p.m. against the New England Revolution as part of United for D.C. Day festivities.

D.C. United Women: The club signed 17-year-old striker Ashley Herndon, Katie Menzie, goalkeeper Didi Haracic (Loyola) and Tiffany Brown.

Ravens: Seniors Maurice "Chris" Harried (Vivien T. Thomas Medical Arts Academy), Samuel Holechek (Francis Scott Key), Bahareh Jabbari (Western), Kayla Morgan (Lansdowne) and Jaspreet Samra (Western) were selected as Ravens Scholars. For their remarkable academic achievement, extracurricular participation and community service, each will be awarded a $5,000 renewable scholarship ($20,000 over four years) to support his or her respective college education.

Maryland women's basketball: The Terps will travel to Nebraska on Nov. 28 in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge. Game time and television information will be announced later.

College baseball: UMBC senior Max Himmelstein was named to the America East All-Conference first team, while Brian Klukowicz was selected to the second team. Freshman Anthony Gatto was named to the All-Rookie squad. Junior right-hander Michael Trionfo (Calvert Hall) and freshman first baseman Brendan Butler (John Carroll) were named to the All-Colonial Athletic Association second team. ... Johns Hopkins senior Alex Eliopoulos and juniors Jeff Lynch and Kyle Neverman were named to the American Baseball Coaches Association All-Mid Atlantic teams. Eliopoulos was chosen to the first team, Lynch to the second team and Neverman to the third team. ... Chris Godfrey signed a letter of intent to play at Coppin State. He played for two years at Frederick Community College, which advanced to the Region XX tournament last season as Godfrey batted .362 in 29 games and had six doubles and 11 RBIs.

Women's college tennis: Johns Hopkins junior Nandita Krishnan is the recipient of the Elite 89 Award for the NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championship. This marks the second straight year that a woman from Hopkins has won the honor. She joins Carolyn Warren, who won last year, as the only athletes from Johns Hopkins to take home the honor.

From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.