Terps' Schwarzmann among 5 women's Tewaaraton finalists

May 10, 2012|By Katherine Dunn

Maryland’s Katie Schwarzmann is one of five finalists announced Thursday for the Tewaaraton Award as the top player in the women’s college game.

Schwarzmann, also a finalist last season, joins John Carroll graduate Brittany Dashiell, from Florida; North Carolina’s Becky Lynch; Northwestern’s Taylor Thornton; and Syracuse’s Michelle Tumolo in the top five. Last season’s winner, Shannon Smith of Northwestern, did not make the final cut.

Schwarzmann, a Century graduate and former All-Metro Player of the Year, is the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and the ACC tournament Most Valuable Player after leading the No. 3 Terrapins to the title with a tournament-record 11 goals. The junior midfielder leads the Terps with 63 goals, best in the ACC and third in the nation.

Two other players from Maryland have won the Tewaaraton: Jen Adams in 2001 and Caitlyn McFadden in 2010.

Dashiell, a former All-Metro player, leads No. 1 Florida with 23 assists and was third on the team in points with 59. An All-American Lacrosse Conference selection, the junior midfielder also had 27 ground balls and 42 draw controls. She is the first Tewaaraton finalist in Florida’s three-year lacrosse history.

Lynch, from Garden City, N.Y., is the only senior finalist and the No. 5 Tar Heels’ all-time assist leader with 89. An All-ACC selection, the attacker led her team, the ACC regular season champion, in points with 55 and draw controls with 27. She is the only Tar Heels player to earn all-tournament recognition four straight years.

Thornton, from Dallas, Texas, is the ALC Player of the Year and a three-time all-conference selection. The junior midfielder, was the 2011 Defensive Player of the Year. She had 27 goals for the No. 2 Wildcats, but led the team in ground balls with 44 and had 59 draw controls. The Wildcats have claimed five previous Tewaaraton trophys: Kristen Kjellman in 2006 and 2007, Hannah Nielsen in 2008 and 2009 and Smith in 2011.

Tumolo, from Mullica Hill, N.J., led the No. 4 Orange in assists with 40 and had 83 points. The junior attacker is the Big East Attack Player of the Year and a two-time all-conference selection. She is the second player in Orange history to contribute 200 career points and 100 career assists.

The Tewaaraton Award, along with the men’s trophy, will be presented May 31 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian. It will be the 12th annual Tewaaraton awards ceremony.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.