Ratliff's goal in OT lifts Loyola over Denver in ECAC semifinal, 14-13

May 03, 2012|Sports Digest

Men's college lacrosse

Ratliff's goal in OT lifts Loyola over Denver in ECAC semifinal, 14-13

Loyola long-stick midfielder Scott Ratliff scored right off the faceoff to open overtime, erasing a nightmarish fourth-quarter collapse by the Greyhounds and lifting them to a 14-13 win over host Denver in an Eastern College Athletic Conference men's lacrosse semifinal Wednesday night. The top-seeded Greyhounds, who defeated No. 4 seed Denver on its home field for the second time in 2 1/2 weeks, advance to Friday's 6 p.m. ECAC championship, where they will face No. 3 seed Fairfield. Loyola, ranked No. 3, used a 5-0 run to take a 13-6 lead, but the Pioneers, ranked ninth, scored the next seven goals, the final by Cameron Flint with 3:30 remaining. In overtime, With all the momentum seemingly on the Pioneers' side, Ratliff silenced the crowd, scooping a ground ball off the draw, sprinting downfield and firing a low shot that bounced past goalie Ryan LaPlante. Fairfield (12-3) advanced to its second consecutive ECAC championship with an 8-7 win over Ohio State. Sam Snow scored the winning goal with 2:49 to play in regulation.

More Division I games: Scott Hopmann Top-ranked host Massachusetts (14-0) proved too much for Towson (7-8) in a Colonial Athletic Association semifinal. The Minutemen scored three goals in the fourth quarter to pull away from the Tigers, 10-3. Colin Fleming had four goals for UMass, which will host Drexel on Saturday at 7 p.m. The Dragons (8-7) earned a 13-11 upset victory over host No. 10 Penn State (9-6).

Division III game: Matt Lynch had four goals and four assists to power host Goucher (16-1) to a 13-6 decision over Catholic (9-6) in a Landmark Conference semifinal. The Gophers will host Drew, a 15-9 winner over Scranton, in Saturday's championship at 1 p.m.

Division I notes: Johns Hopkins junior midfielder John Greeley, who crumpled to the turf untouched after intercepting a pass in the second quarter of an 8-2 loss to Navy on April 21, will miss the rest of the season, according to coach Dave Pietramala. Greeley, who had seven goals and seven assists in 12 starts this season, will undergo surgery to repair the left knee in which he had torn the anterior cruciate ligament last summer. ... Maryland senior midfielder Jake Bernhardt will not play this year and will apply for a medical redshirt, coach John Tillman said. Bernhardt, who had 15 goals and three assists in 2011, injured his left shoulder Feb. 4 and underwent surgery. He had returned to practice on a limited basis last month.

Edward Lee

Division I honors: Princeton goalie Tyler Fiorito (McDonogh) was named Ivy League Player of the Year and made the All-Ivy first team. Brown junior defenseman Sam Ford (McDonogh) was named to the second team.

Division III honors: Salisbury senior midfielder Sam Bradman was named Capital Athletic Conference Player of the Year for the second time in three years. The Sea Gulls' Jim Berkman was selected as Coach of the Year for the ninth time. York freshman attackman Tyler Hutson (Winters Mill) was Rookie of the Year. Bradman and Hutson were joined on the All-CAC first team by Stevenson freshman attackman Stephen Banick, Salisbury senior attackman Matt Cannone, Salisbury senior attackman Erik Krum, Salisbury junior midfielder Ryan Clarke, St. Mary's junior midfielder Taylor Cook (St. Mary's Ryken), Stevenson junior defenseman Kyle Holechek (Loyola), Salisbury senior defenseman Andrew Sellers (Archbishop Curley), St. Mary's sophomore defenseman Tripp Trainor (Gilman), Salisbury senior short-stick midfielder Dean Rossi, Salisbury senior long-stick midfielder Evan Hockel (Archbishop Spalding), St. Mary's senior long-stick midfielder Peter Windsor (St. Paul's), Salisbury junior faceoff specialist Tyler Granelli and Stevenson senior goalie Ian Bolland. The second team included Salisbury senior attackman Tony Mendes, St. Mary's junior attackman Patrick Mull (Fallston), Stevenson senior midfielder Justin Lea (Mount St. Joseph), Stevenson junior defenseman Parker Bratton (McDonogh), Stevenson junior defenseman Kyle Fendlay (Winters Mill), Salisbury sophomore defenseman Zeke Smith, Stevenson sophomore long-stick midfielder Ryan Rubenstein (Boys' Latin), St. Mary's junior faceoff specialist Albert Mitchell and Salisbury sophomore goalie Alex Taylor (Glenelg).

More colleges

Terps football player Foreman suspended

Maryland suspended Lukas Foreman, a defensive back turned linebacker, for one year for violating the student-athlete code of conduct, the school said. Foreman, 6 feet 3, 205 pounds, entered Maryland last season as a defensive back and redshirted. He switched to linebacker before spring practice. He was listed on the depth chart as a backup SAM linebacker.

Jeff Barker

More football: Morgan State running back Jourdan Brooks, a transfer from Rutgers who was the Bears' third-leading rusher last season with 193 yards on 59 carries, will receive a tryout with the Cincinnati Bengals.

Men's basketball: Arundel senior David Nicholson, a second-team All-Metro guard who averaged 18.1 points last season, has committed to Widener. A three-year varsity player, Nicholson was a team captain who also averaged 4.0 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 2.5 steals as the Wildcats (24-2) captured the Anne Arundel County and District V championships.

Glenn Graham

Baseball: Maryland (29-20) was held to three hits, including one over the final 52/3 innings, while host George Mason (32-17) took an early 4-0 lead and held off the Terps for a 5-3 victory.

Women's college tennis: Duke's Beatrice Capra of Ellicott City, the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year, will be seeded second in singles at the NCAA championships May 23-28 in Athens, Ga. Maryland sophomore Cristina Stancu also received a bid to compete.

From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.