Brackets set for A Conference lacrosse tournament

May 02, 2012|By Katherine Dunn

The brackets have been set for the IAAM A Conference girls lacrosse tournament which begins play Friday and culminates in the title game Sunday, May 13 at Stevenson University.

Three-time defending champion McDonogh is the top seed and has a first-round bye along with second-seeded Bryn Mawr, third-seeded Maryvale and fourth-seeded Notre Dame Prep.

The No. 1 Eagles, whose seniors aim to finish their careers 76-1, begin play on Tuesday vs. the winner of Friday’s first-round game between Mount de Sales and Severn. The top-ranked Eagles extended their winning streak to 66 games with Monday’s 15-8 win over No. 3 Century. That streak is the second-longest girls lacrosse run in Baltimore-area history behind the 103 mark held by Loch Raven and Mount Hebron. Loch Raven has the longest unbeaten streak at 104, having tied the game before their winning streak began.

No. 2-ranked Bryn Mawr, whose only loss was to the Eagles, will meet John Carroll or Garrison Forest in the second round. No. 5 Maryvale will host No. 11 St. Paul’s or Archbishop Spalding. No. 6 Notre Dame Prep will host No. 10 Roland Park or St. Mary’s.

After Tuesday's quarterfinals, the semifinals will be Thursday, May 10. Early round game times are 4:30 p.m. The title game on May 13 scheduled for 3 p.m.

For complete bracket information for all conferences, go to the IAAM web site.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.