Digest: Terps' Barrett to Mystics, Kizer to Shock in WNBA draft

Rapid Redux owner Cole, trainer Wells among Preakness award winners

April 17, 2012|Sports Digest

WNBA draft

Terps' Barrett, Kizer selected among top 30

Maryland point guard Anjalé Barrett and center Lynetta Kizer were selected in the top 30 of the WNBA draft Monday afternoon. Barrett was picked 26th overall and went to the Washington Mystics, to join former teammate Crystal Langhorne. Kizer went to the Tulsa Shock two picks later. Barrett finished her senior season second in the Atlantic Coast Conference in assists (4.9) and assist-turnover ratio (1.8), and ended her career fifth in Maryland history in assists with 486. Kizer was a three-time All-ACC honoree and the league Sixth Player of the Year in her senior season.

Mystics: In addition to Barrett, Washington selected Natalie Novosel from Notre Dame and LaSondra Barrett from LSU with the eighth and 10th overall picks, respectively. A 5-foot-11 guard, Novosel was instrumental in helping the Fighting Irish reach back-to-back national championship games. She averaged 10.7 points and 3.3 rebounds in her career, led the Big East Conference in both 3-point field goals and free-throw percentage, and was named to consecutive All-Big East first teams. A 6-2 forward, LaSondra Barrett was named to the All-Southeastern Conference first team and was a Wade Trophy finalist. Her career averages include 12.2 points and 6.4 rebounds. The Mystics also chose guard Briana Gilbreath (35th overall) from Southern California.


Rapid Redux owner, trainer among award winners

Pimlico Race Course announced the winners of this year's Preakness media awards. Honorees will be recognized and awards presented at the May 17 Alibi Breakfast in the Terrace Dining Room. The ceremony is scheduled for 9:30a.m. The winner of the Special Award of Merit, given to someone who has made a positive impact on the racing industry, is Team Rapid Redux. The winner of 22 consecutive races, the son of Pleasantly Perfect was a perfect 19-for-19 season in 2011 for owner Robert Cole Jr., a Towson native, and trainer David Wells. Philadelphia Inquirer writer Bob Ford is the recipient of the David F. Woods Award for his column on the relationship between Fair Hill Training Center-based trainers Graham Motion and Michael Matz. The Woods Award honors the best story for the previous year. Blood Horse photographer Chad Harmon is the winner of the Jerry Frutkoff Preakness Photo Award. Harmon captured Shackleford and Animal Kingdom nearing the finish line and casting huge shadows across the Pimlico homestretch as they raced to decide the outcome of last year's Preakness. The Old Hilltop Award will go to Sports Illustrated senior writer Tim Layden and Daily Racing Form's David Grening for covering thoroughbred racing with excellence and distinction. Baltimore radio personalities Scott Garceau and Keith Mills will host the event for the fourth consecutive year.

Dew Tour

Ocean City to host event again as part of new format

The Dew Tour will return to Ocean City Aug. 16-19 as part of the new "Beach, City, Mountain" format for the event. The model will feature expanded television programming and digital strategy across NBC, NBC Sports Network, nbcsports.com and allisports.com. Each tour stop will include expanded and new sports and disciplines, and an enhanced on-site experience featuring more live music and a new "Dew Tour Experience." After the Ocean City event, the tour will move to San Francisco for the "City" event and then conclude in Breckenridge, Colo., with the "Mountain" stop Dec. 13-16.

Et cetera

Navy-Notre Dame opener in Dublin to begin at 9 a.m.

Navy's season-opening football game vs. Notre Dame in Dublin on Sept. 1 will begin at 9 a.m. Eastern time. CBS Sports' lead college football team of Verne Lundquist, Gary Danielson and reporter Tracy Wolfson will call the action live from Aviva Stadium.

Women's college lacrosse: Host No. 7 Dartmouth (10-2, 5-0 Ivy League) wrapped up the home portion of its regular season with a 21-4 victory over Niagara (3-9, 0-4 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference). The last time Dartmouth eclipsed the 20-goal mark was in a 22-2 win over Vermont in 2010. Senior Kristen Goldberg (St.Paul's) and two others led the Big Green with three goals apiece. ... The Big Green outshot Niagara, 36-14, and controlled the draw, 20-6. Both teams finished with five saves and 16 ground balls apiece. After scoring seven goals and helping Navy secure the Patriot League regular-season championship with a 19-6 win over second-place American on Friday, freshman Loren Generi was selected as the league's Rookie of the Week. Generi's seven goals established a new career high and matched sophomore Aimee Gennaro's school record for a freshman. ... Salisbury junior attacker Katie Bollhorst (St. Mary's High) and St. Mary's junior midfielder Erin Shackelford (Annapolis) were named Capital Athletic Conference Co-Offensive Players of the Week; it is the fourth time this season Bollhorst has been honored by the conference.

Men's college basketball: Former Dunbar guard Derrell Edwards committed to High Point. A second-team Baltimore Sun All-Metro selection in 2010, Edwards has spent the past two years at South Plains College in Texas, where he teamed with Stanton Kidd (Edmondson) and Corey Spence (Dunbar) in leading the Texans to a 36-0 season and the National Junior College Athletic Association Division I championship. At High Point, Edwards will team with another former Dunbar standout in Devante Wallace, who recently completed his freshman season with the Panthers.

Wizards: The team signed guard Morris Almond and waived Roger Mason Jr. Almond has spent the past four seasons in the NBA D-League, where he has averaged 24.5 points and 4.8 rebounds, and shot .495 from the field in 119 career games (112 starts).

D.C. United Women: The team signed defender Becky Sauerbrunn, a member of the U.S. national team.

From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.