Four freshmen lead No. 7 John Carroll to Franklin Invitational title

With six individual winners, Patriots score one for the private schools

  • John Carroll's Scott Strappelli defeats Glenelg's Ryan Carter in the 138-pound final at the Franklin Invitational on Saturday.
John Carroll's Scott Strappelli defeats Glenelg's… (Lloyd Fox, Baltimore Sun )
January 14, 2012|By Sandra McKee, The Baltimore Sun

With 49 seconds left in the 132-pound final at Saturday's Franklin Invitational, John Carroll freshman Chris Scott was trailing by two points. He knew he had to do something, and do it fast.

When the match restarted, Scott knew he needed a takedown just to tie. And he and his opponent, top-seeded Owings Mills senior Zach Shapiro, both went for it. Shapiro seemed to have gotten the advantage, but he couldn't hold it as Scott scooted away and got the advantage. And then, quick as a blink, the freshman had the senior on his back for a near fall. Shapiro rallied, but when the buzzer went off, Scott had won, 7-6.

"When he almost got the take down, I felt in danger," Scott said. "I had to make a good scramble to get out of there and then I got him on his back. I knew I had to take that kid down for me and my team."

It was that attitude that led No. 7 John Carroll to the overall team title with four freshmen — Scott, Steven Jernigan (120 pounds), Chris Almony (152) and Hunter Ritter (160) — leading the way with individual championships.

The Patriots (248.5 points) also got titles from Scott Strappelli (138) and George Weber (145) to ensure their team's wide margin of victory over runner-up No. 9 Archbishop Curley (207).

No. 5 Owings Mills finished third in the 17-team tournament with 198.5 points, followed by Glenelg (197) and Hereford (115). Host Franklin was sixth with 102.

Centennial's Nathan Kraisser (126 pounds) was named the outstanding wrestler in the lighter weights after pinning his way through all three of his matches after a first-round bye. Ritter was named outstanding wrestler in the upper weights.

Ritter decisioned Owings Mills senior Taran Carr, the defending Class 2A-1A champion, 8-1, in a major upset in the 160-pound final.

"I just went out and did my best," said Kraisser, a senior who will be going for a fourth state title this season. "I try to get the guys on their back and when I do I try not to let them up. This was a good level of competition for my entire team. It was a good experience and we'll learn from it.

"I thought John Carroll with eight guys in the finals was very strong, and I thought Owings Mills had a good team. The entire tournament was a battle."

Private schools John Carroll and Curley both came into the tournament with hopes of beating public-school power Owings Mills, and they left feeling satisfied.

"Oh, yeah," Strappelli said. "We made the point. We knew Owings Mills was tough. We didn't take anyone lightly. We were serious and we came out with a good result."

John Carroll coach Keith Watson and Owings Mills' Guy Pritzker were still slinging a few barbs at the end.

"Here's the thing," Watson said. "We're a private school. We're supposed to win. We can recruit with all our enticements — the $2,000 scholarship that still leaves the parents with a $12,000 bill."

Watson was speaking partly in jest and was pleased to have six champions out of his eight finalists. But he isn't far from the truth of what some from the public schools think about the privates.

"There is no such thing as a private school wrestler," said Pritzker, who noted that he was pleased with his team's performance, having put five wrestlers in the finals. "They're like Big Foot, they don't exist. The private schools just skim the best kids off the top of the public school programs. But my kids, we still don't have the kids we should, but we're doing real good with the ones we've got."

Franklin Invitational

Final team Scores

1. John Carroll (248.5 points)

2. Archbishop Curley (207)

3. Owings Mills (198.5)

4. Glenelg (197)

5. Hereford (115)

6. Franklin (102)

7. Mount Hebron (98)

8. Eastern Tech (92)

9. Towson (86.5)

10. Centennial (65)

11. Northwestern (47)

12. Overlea (44)

13. Westminster (38)

14. Mount Airy (23)

15. Glen Burnie (16)

16. Joppatowne (12)

17. Silver Oak (2.5)


Individual Place Winners

Weight: 106

1st: Anthony Genco, Hereford 3- 0

2nd'. Zach Dwyer, John Carroll 2- 1

3rd: Jeff Hayden, Mount Hebron 3- 1

4th: Jake Rendelman, Owings Mills 2- 2

5th: Aaron Robey, Westminster 3- 26

6th: Ambrose Lutwyche, Franklin 1- 3

Weight: 113

1st: Corey Huntley, Archbishop Curley 3- 0

2nd: Devin Davis, John Carroll 2- 1

3rd. Holden Taylor, Franklin 3- 1

4th: Russell Carter, Hereford 2- 2

5th: Brandon Bekar, Owings Mills 2- 2

6th: Austin Miller, Glenelg 2- 3

Weight: 120

1st: Steven Jernigan, John Carroll 3- 0

2nd: Ben Montanye, Franklin 2- I

3rd: Jamil Garrett, Towson 5- 1

4th: Naron Gilmer, Archbishop Curley 2- 2

5th: Jesse Cherry, Mount Airy 3- 2

6th: Jordan Phillips, Eastern Tech 2- 3

Weight: 126

1st: Nathan Kraisser, Centennial 3- 0

2nd: Conner Strunk, Mount Hebron 2- 1

3rd: Artie Milner, John Carroll 3- 1

4th: Roman Marmalyukov, Westminster 4-

5th: Mike Budock, Glenelg 4- 2

6th: Nick Montanye, Franklin 1- 3

Weight: 132

1st: Chris Scott, John Carroll 4- 0

2nd: Zach Shapiro, Owings Mills 3- 1

3rd: Dylan Gray, Hereford 4- 1

4th: Austin Pagnotta, Glenelg 2- 2

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.