St. Agnes Hospital recognized for work with EMT students

January 13, 2012

St. Agnes Hospital was one of 11 medical institutions recognized by the Emergency Medical Technology program in the School of Health Professions at the Community College of Baltimore County.

In addition to the Baltimore hospital at Wilkens and Caton avenues, the other institutions that received plaques from the school were Franklin Square Hospital, Harford Memorial Hospital, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, Maryland Poison Center - University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, Mercy Medical Center, R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, Sinai Hospital, St. Joseph Medical Center, University of Maryland Medical Center and Upper Chesapeake Medical Center

"These sites provide valuable experiences to our students that could not be duplicated in the classroom," said Deanna Wiseman, CCBC EMT program clinical coordinator, in a release.

"With the ability to spend time at the clinical sites, CCBC students can interact directly with physicians, nurses, pharmacists, respiratory therapists and other health care providers. Their clinical experience includes working with supervision in such units as the emergency department, labor and delivery, burn center, shock trauma, intensive care unit, poison center, operating rooms and other specialized health care evaluation and treatment centers," Wiseman said, in the release.

The Emergency Medical Technician program at CCBC is a two-year program for students to become EMTs and paramedics.

For information about the program, go to

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.