Flacco in running for season award

Quarterbacks one of five candidates for GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year

January 09, 2012|By Edward Lee

Joe Flacco is one of five candidates competing for the GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year.

The Ravens quarterback was singled out for his 26-yard touchdown pass to rookie wide receiver Torrey Smith with eight seconds left in the fourth quarter. That score capped a 13-play, 92-yard drive that gave the team an eventual 23-20 win against the Pittsburgh Steelers on Nov. 6 and a sweep of their AFC North rivals.

Flacco is vying for the award with Green Bay Packers outside linebacker Clay Matthews (led a goal-line stop of New Orleans Saints running back Mark Ingram to preserve a 42-34 victory on Sept. 8); Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo (engineered a 13-point comeback in the fourth quarter and overtime to earn a 27-24 win against the San Francisco 49ers on Sept. 18); the Oakland Raiders (upending the Houston Texans, 25-20, on Oct. 11, just one day after owner Al Davis had died); and Denver Broncos quarterback Tim Tebow (helped erase a 10-0 deficit in the final 2:08 of regulation to cement a 13-10 overtime win against the Chicago Bears on Dec. 11).

Fans can vote at NFL.com/gmc until the poll closes on Thursday, Jan. 26 at 9 p.m. EST. One fan will be selected to win a 2012 GMC Sierra HD Denali.

 The winner will be announced in Indianapolis, the site of Super Bowl XLVI, at NFL Honors, a two-hour ptimetime awards special scheduled to air on Saturday, Feb. 4 from 9-11 p.m. EST on NBC.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.